DKU Data and Visualization Resources: Databases and Data Sources

Master clearing house for datasets from many US government agencies.

Index of normalized, open, sources of top-level data for ease of access and analysis.

Paid data clearing house.

Google's search engine for datasets.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge, though it takes several steps to access the data.

Paid data clearing house.

Paid data clearing house.

Database of datasets from every conceivable field, including industrial data, micro level data.

Database of US Census Information - Population figures, socioeconomic characteristics, and demographic and business information.

Free database of open-access e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.

China Family Panel Studies (CFPS) is a nationally representative, annual longitudinal survey of Chinese communities, families, and individuals launched in 2010 by the Institute of Social Science Survey (ISSS) of Peking University, China.

The China Health and Nutrition Survey (CHNS) is an ongoing open cohort, international collaborative project between the Carolina Population Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the National Institute for Nutrition and Health (NINH, former National Institute of Nutrition and Food Safety) at the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CCDC).

The China Health and Retirement Longitudinal Study (CHARLS) aims to collect a high quality nationally representative sample of Chinese residents ages 45 and older to serve the needs of scientific research on the elderly.

National statistical database for a wide range of data including population, socioeconomics, business, transportation, etc.

All data collected by agencies of the EU.

Paid data clearing house on various subjects.

Global Socioeconomic Development Data. Robust Visualization Suite.

The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2017 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 180,000 cases.

Paid data clearing house on various topics.

An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

The International Benchmarking Network for Water and Sanitation Utilities (IBNET) is your direct access to the world largest database for water and sanitation utilities performance data.

The International Centre for Water Resources and Global Change (ICWRGC) operates the GEMStat water quality database in Koblenz, Germany, within the scope of the GEMS/Water Programme. Water quality data of ground and surface waters are made available by GEMStat.

The main objective of the database is to serve the purposes of humanitarian action at national and international levels. The initiative aims to rationalise decision making for disaster preparedness, as well as provide an objective base for vulnerability assessment and priority setting. EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 22,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to the present day. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.

World Disasters Report is the IFRC's flagship publication. An indepth investigation into one key issue.

SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences.

Database of Global Trade with detailed descriptions of interaction between countries.

Data on food and other agricultural production.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. It does not take policy positions.

Browse data sets about Health, Criminal Justice, Education, Politics, Business, Transportation, Military, Environment, or Finance.

UN library of many sub-databases and research portals on everything from disarmament to AIDS etc.

United Nations Statistical Databases.

US-based data on mortality, health, and lifestyle.

High-level data on countries around the world - political, economic, geographic, etc.

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Data on religious, cultural, and ethical beliefs worldwide.

Databases of diseases, mortality, and various other health indicators.

WRI produces maps, charts, data sets, infographics, and other visual resources as part of our commitment to turn “information into action.” These products are based on our data and research, which are held to traditional academic standards of excellence, including objectivity and rigor.

Free database of open-access e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

The Polar Data Catalogue is a repository of metadata and data that describes and provides access to diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic researchers. The metadata records follow ISO 19115 and Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) standard formats to provide exchange with other data centres. The records cover a wide range of disciplines from natural sciences and policy, to health and social sciences. The PDC Geospatial Search tool is available to the public and researchers alike and allows searching data using a mapping interface and other parameters.

The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) was established in 1989 as an independent non-governmental organization to provide information that would help scientists, decision-makers, and the public better understand the changing relationship between human beings and the environment.

Collection of various environmental data for the US.

Global Socioeconomic Development Data. Robust Visualization Suite.

Map interface that allows the downloading of historical weather filed for any station  in the world.

The Task Group on Data Support for Climate Change Assessments aims to provide guidance to the IPCC’s Data Distribution Centre on curation, traceability, stability, availability and transparency of data and scenarios related to the reports of the IPCC.

The International Benchmarking Network for Water and Sanitation Utilities (IBNET) is your direct access to the world largest database for water and sanitation utilities performance data.

The International Centre for Water Resources and Global Change (ICWRGC) operates the GEMStat water quality database in Koblenz, Germany, within the scope of the GEMS/Water Programme. Water quality data of ground and surface waters are made available by GEMStat.

The main objective of the database is to serve the purposes of humanitarian action at national and international levels. The initiative aims to rationalise decision making for disaster preparedness, as well as provide an objective base for vulnerability assessment and priority setting. EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 22,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to the present day. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.

World Disasters Report is the IFRC's flagship publication. An indepth investigation into one key issue.

FLUXNET is a global network of micrometeorological tower sites that use eddy covariance methods to measure the exchanges of carbon dioxide, water vapor, and energy between terrestrial ecosystems and the atmosphere. More than 500 tower sites around the world are operating on a long-term basis. The overarching goal of the FLUXNET data collection at ORNL DAAC is to provide information for validating remote sensing products for net primary productivity (npp), evaporation, and energy absorption.

SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences.

contains information on destructive earthquakes from 2150 B.C. to the present that meet at least one of the following criteria: Moderate damage (approximately $1 million or more), 10 or more deaths, Magnitude 7.5 or greater, Modified Mercalli Intensity X or greater, or the earthquake generated a tsunami.

Data on food and other agricultural production.

This site has been developed by the OECD's Task Force on PRTRs (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers),which is part of the Environment, Health and Safety Programme. Japan served as a lead country in the development of this website.

UN library of many sub-databases and research portals on everything from disarmament to AIDS etc.

The United Nations Children's Fund produces data sets on childhood health, education, nutrition, etc.

The USGS monitors and reports on earthquakes, assesses earthquake impacts and hazards, and conducts targeted research on the causes and effects of earthquakes. We undertake these activities as part of the larger National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP), a four-agency partnership established by Congress.

The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository. 

Databases of diseases, mortality, and various other health indicators.

WRI produces maps, charts, data sets, infographics, and other visual resources as part of our commitment to turn “information into action.” These products are based on our data and research, which are held to traditional academic standards of excellence, including objectivity and rigor.

The Polar Data Catalogue is a repository of metadata and data that describes and provides access to diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic researchers. The metadata records follow ISO 19115 and Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) standard formats to provide exchange with other data centres. The records cover a wide range of disciplines from natural sciences and policy, to health and social sciences. The PDC Geospatial Search tool is available to the public and researchers alike and allows searching data using a mapping interface and other parameters.

The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) was established in 1989 as an independent non-governmental organization to provide information that would help scientists, decision-makers, and the public better understand the changing relationship between human beings and the environment.

Collection of various environmental data for the US.

Map interface that allows the downloading of historical weather filed for any station  in the world.

The Task Group on Data Support for Climate Change Assessments aims to provide guidance to the IPCC’s Data Distribution Centre on curation, traceability, stability, availability and transparency of data and scenarios related to the reports of the IPCC.

FLUXNET is a global network of micrometeorological tower sites that use eddy covariance methods to measure the exchanges of carbon dioxide, water vapor, and energy between terrestrial ecosystems and the atmosphere. More than 500 tower sites around the world are operating on a long-term basis. The overarching goal of the FLUXNET data collection at ORNL DAAC is to provide information for validating remote sensing products for net primary productivity (npp), evaporation, and energy absorption.

contains information on destructive earthquakes from 2150 B.C. to the present that meet at least one of the following criteria: Moderate damage (approximately $1 million or more), 10 or more deaths, Magnitude 7.5 or greater, Modified Mercalli Intensity X or greater, or the earthquake generated a tsunami.

This site has been developed by the OECD's Task Force on PRTRs (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers),which is part of the Environment, Health and Safety Programme. Japan served as a lead country in the development of this website.

The USGS monitors and reports on earthquakes, assesses earthquake impacts and hazards, and conducts targeted research on the causes and effects of earthquakes. We undertake these activities as part of the larger National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP), a four-agency partnership established by Congress.

The International Benchmarking Network for Water and Sanitation Utilities (IBNET) is your direct access to the world largest database for water and sanitation utilities performance data.

The International Centre for Water Resources and Global Change (ICWRGC) operates the GEMStat water quality database in Koblenz, Germany, within the scope of the GEMS/Water Programme. Water quality data of ground and surface waters are made available by GEMStat.

The main objective of the database is to serve the purposes of humanitarian action at national and international levels. The initiative aims to rationalise decision making for disaster preparedness, as well as provide an objective base for vulnerability assessment and priority setting. EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 22,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to the present day. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.

World Disasters Report is the IFRC's flagship publication. An indepth investigation into one key issue.

SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences.

Data on food and other agricultural production.

WRI produces maps, charts, data sets, infographics, and other visual resources as part of our commitment to turn “information into action.” These products are based on our data and research, which are held to traditional academic standards of excellence, including objectivity and rigor.

Various datasets produced by one of the biggest names in data journalism. Focus on politics, sports, and culture.

Various forms of art based on datasets.

Data pulled from historical journal and text archives to provide training on datamining and corpus analysis.

Film industry data - attendance, revenue, profits, ticket numbers, etc.

Data on religious, cultural, and ethical beliefs worldwide.

Database of US Census Information - Population figures, socioeconomic characteristics, and demographic and business information.

Free database of open-access e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Economic Data for the United States, down to the county level, with time-series data going back decades.

Economic data for the United States with heavy emphasis on the labor and consumer economy, jobs, employment, inflation, and education.

China Family Panel Studies (CFPS) is a nationally representative, annual longitudinal survey of Chinese communities, families, and individuals launched in 2010 by the Institute of Social Science Survey (ISSS) of Peking University, China.

Paid data clearing house.

Various datasets produced by one of the biggest names in data journalism.

Paid data clearing house.

SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences.

National statistical database for a wide range of data including population, socioeconomics, business, transportation, etc.

Film industry data on popularity, revenue, and other statistics.

Data on food and other agricultural production.

Database of Global Trade with detailed descriptions of interaction between countries.

United Nations database of interntaional trade statistics. Includes Comtrade Labs, a place to showcase innovative and experimental uses of UN Comtrade data. Explore visualizations of huge volume of data and metadata, cutting-edge data extraction tools, and alternative dissemination platforms.

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Input-Output Tables and underlying data, covering 43 countries, and a model for the rest of the world for the period 2000-2014. Data for 56 sectors are classified according to the International Standard Industrial Classification revision 4 (ISIC Rev. 4).

The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository. 

Databases of diseases, mortality, and various other health indicators.