Skip to main content

GSF 89S: Girls on Film

Finding Film Reviews

To find film reviews, search in scholarly databases and use the film title in " " and add additional information, like director's name,and limit your date range to a month or so before your film was released and and a year or two later. For example, "Crooklyn" and "Spike Lee" with dates Jan. 1 1994- Jan. 1 1996. IMDB is pretty reliable for basic information like director, release date, etc. 

Many databases will have a specific document type of "Reviews & Products" or "Movie Review" or "Film Review" that you can limit to, as well.

Searching in newspaper databases is also a good source of film reviews: New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Times (of London, 1785-2010) and the database America's News are good sources to try. 

Database Tips

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Choose from the All Subjects dropdown menu or enter database name (i.e. JSTOR).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online. If it's not online, check the online catalog to see if we have the journal in print.

Not available at Duke? Request it from another library using Interlibrary Requests.

Find Articles and Book Chapters and Reviews

MLA International Bibliography - covers topics in literature, folklore, theatre, and other performing arts, including film; find book chapters, doctoral dissertations, conference proceedings, and other film studies resources.

JSTOR - full-text of core scholarly journals from their earliest issues to within a few years of current publication; coverage for recent articles can be found in Project Muse

Film & television literature index with full text - subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and movie reviews from Variety; includes the journal Camera Obscura (up to 1 year ago; for the most recent articles in this journal search here). 

Communication & Mass Media Complete - cover topics in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies including the journal Feminist Media Studies (up to 18 months ago; for the most recent articles in this journal search here). 

International Index to the Performing Arts - covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater.

Performing Arts Periodicals 

Google Scholar - search across disciplines for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations; use the GetIt@Duke icon to see if we have access to full text. 

Featured Journals

A peer-reviewed journal that provides "a forum for the critical discussion of girlhood from a variety of disciplinary perspectives, and for the dissemination of current research and reflections on girls' lives..."


Camera Obscura provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies. This journal encourages contributions in areas such as the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture; new histories and theories of film, television, video, and digital media; and politically engaged approaches to a range of media practices.

Feminist Media Studies is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering media and communication studies from a feminist perspective.