Skip to main content

Research in Human Rights: History 390S: Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Primary Sources

Image courtesy Cardinal Stritch University Library


Primary sources are contemporary, first-hand, (un)published accounts of an event. Published = printed, filmed, uploaded, or digitized (non-archival) materials. How to Read a Primary Sources (
Bowdoin College) wesbite includes a helpful section (2b) with tips for what kinds of questions to ask when evaluating a primary source.

Archival Collections

Newspapers

  • International newspapers--Links to and descriptions of (nearly) all of the Duke Library's newspapers - original, electronic & microform, as well as links to collections available to members of the Duke community, but located outside of Duke itself.

Primary Source Publications

Publications of original documents, often with retrospective scholarly analysis and bibliographies. 

Audiovisual Materials

  • Still Images: Embedded Collections (image searching in journal databases, eg. AP Images, ARTstor, Cinema Image Gallert frin Wilson web), portals (Collections of Image Sites from Trustworthy Sources -- The Interntational and Area Studies Librarians at Duke maintain excellent image portals in the research guides for their respective areas); and commercial collections (ORBIS, carge for use, but browsing is free)
  • Moving Images (Video/Films)
  • Sound-recordings – such as oral histories, political speeches = eg. Search by format ("Audio") for keyword (eg. "human rights")

Numerical & Geospatial Data

  • Maps and geographic information systems (GIS)
  • Non-spatial data sets – indices do not take into account any spatial relationships of the geographical entities (i.e., distances apart, clustering within, spatial concentrations, etc.).
  • Using Statistics (Purdue): Numbers don't speak for themselves. Here's advice on how to use statistics effectively. Be sure to check out Duke University Libraries' International Statistics collection.

Primary Source Databases

Secondary Sources

Image courtesy Cardinal Stritch University Library

Secondary Sources are retrospective analyses based on the author's own reading of existing primary sources. Scholarly work uses recent, peer-reviewed academic sources, such as journal (not magazine) articles, books, and book chapters.

Books

Articles

Dissertations & theses

Book Reviews

Peer Review

What is a scholarly or peer reviewed article? View NCSU Library's tutorial: Peer Review in Three Minutes