Skip to main content

Research in Human Rights: History 390S: The Rubenstein Library and other primary sources

Human Rights Archive

The Human Rights Archive in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library contains a wealth of fantastic collections from grassroots organizations, artists, NGOs, and more.  To explore the collections in depth, see the guide to collections. Pay particular to the page on Immigration and Human Rights.

Before you head to the Rubenstein Library,

Create an account. It is easy to do, and through that account you can request materials before your visit.  No waiting time!

Oral History Resources

Looking for how-to manuals or oral history methodologies?  Try these subject headings --

Also, consider using geographic subdivisions --

Finding Primary Sources in the Online Catalog

Looking for primary resources like memoirs, correspondence, oral histories, diaries or letters? To identify these resources in the online catalog, look for the subdivisions, correspondence, interviews, sources, diaries and personal narratives. Any of these terms can be used in the keyword search mode. Searching Tip: Try a keyword search for oral histories with a search like oral history mexico. Many of the published oral histories don't contain the terms interviews or oral history in the subject headings. The terms are coming from titles or summaries.

You can also limited your search by location  -- The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library has a stellar collections related to human rights, and the University Archives houses the records of Duke University.

Sample Oral History Collections