Skip to main content

Research in Human Rights: History 390S: Finding Newspaper Articles

Online Newspapers

Historical Coverage:

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 provides full-text access to hundreds of Spanish-language newspapers.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press contains historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.

19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.

Chronicling America is a joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Currently, you can search and view pages from the newspapers of around 30 states. The ultimate goal of this project is to have every state and U.S. territory represented in this digital archive.  Coverage is 1836 to 1922 but varies by title.

World Newspaper Archive provides access to news articles from newspapers around the world, 19th and early 20th century.

Current Coverage:

America's News is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region. This full-text service excludes advertisements but includes national, regional, state, and local news items which were written by the local newspaper staff. Letters to the editor and editorials are included. Coverage is largely from the 1990s to present. Note: This database includes the Raleigh News and Observer, 1879 to present, the Durham Herald Sun, 1995 to present, and the Miami Herald, 1911 to present.

Nexis Uni provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers..Coverage varies by title, but the majority of titles are available from the 1990s to the present.

Ethnic Newswatch (1960 to present) contains the full text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.

Latin American Newsstream (2005 to present) provides full-text access to articles from around 100 Latin American newspapers and major international newswires like BBC Monitoring.

Proquest Newsstand provides access to news articles from newspapers from around the world.

Individual Titles:

Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Baltimore Sun (1837-1993); Chicago Tribune (1849-1996); Los Angeles Times (1881-1995); The New York Times (1851-2014); The Wall Street Journal (1889-2002); The Washington Post (1877-2002). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.