Skip to main content

U.S. Ambivalence about Making Profits: Data+: Federal Documents

Historical Publications Online (Selected Sources)

  • Library of Congress Guide to Law Listings of what's available online for free (titles and years available). Some sources will lack search interfaces, but are good for drilling down to known citations. Includes legislative, executive, and judicial branch publications. See also their Century of Lawmaking site, with legal and legislative documents through 1875.
  • ProQuest Congressional [and Executive Branch] Publications:Full text of most US Congressional titles 1789-present as well as Executive Branch publications through 1932. Congressional Record since 1985. Paper indexes are also available: Executive Branch.
  • GovTrack.us Collects legislative information such as bill texts and voting records of members of Congress. Especially useful for its developer tools such as an API and bulk download of data from many past sessions.
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994: Text of House and Senate Reports and Documents (and Journals 1953-1974); newer at FDsys
  • America's Historical Imprints: Especially in Series II (Shaw-Shoemaker bibliography), includes many of the pre-1820 government publications not included in the above sources.
  • HeinOnline: The text of publications since their inception, focusing on law and legislation, including the Congressional Record and predecessors
  • The American Presidency Project  At UC Santa Barbara, gathers together many different types of documents and transcripts of speeches and spoken statements related to the Office of the President
  • FRASER From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, contains hundreds of digitized US federal government publications and unpublished archival collections relating to economics, banking, and public policy. Acrobat (.pdf) documents are fully searchable.
  • Digitization Projects Registry A listing of digitization projects of historical U.S. Government publications that were previously only available in print format.

Excess Profits Tax

Data Set

The Library has access to the the data set, Historic Digital Bills and Resolutions, 1789-2013, which is great for text mining.

 

Additional Specialized Access Points

Access to recent information and/or access or indexing to historical publications, archival information (unpublished records of government agencies and declassified documents), technical reports (quasi-governmental reports prepared by contractors), and statistical data.