Skip to main content
Music Resources for Graduate Students
Search this Guide
Music Resources for Graduate Students: Recordings
General Review and Exam Study
Browse an online collection of classical music, operas and ballets
Metropolitan Opera on Demand
View streaming performances from 575 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances
Naxos Video Library
Find and watch streaming videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries
Naxos Music Library
Find and listen to classical music online
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Find and listen to jazz music online
Music & Performing Arts
Find audio and video spanning all time periods from hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Find and listen to musical sound recordings and MIDI files, as well as program notes, composer biographies, and images
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Find and listen to streaming folk and related music
Music Online: American Music
Search for and listen to streaming music providing coverage of American music
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Search videos and 11,000 discs covering a wide spectrum of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Find and listen to world music of all types
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Search a collection of historic field recordings from around the world, including supporting field notes and ethnographers' metadata.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
Find and listen to musical recordings from independent record labels and sound archives, featuring complete original liner notes and essays
British Library Sounds
Association for Cultural Equity
Founded by Alan Lomax.
EVIA Digital Archive: Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis
Sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Indiana University, and the University of Michigan, the mission of the EVIA Project is "to preserve ethnographic field video created by scholars as part of their research" with rich metadata.
The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
Project from the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center, the Arhoolie Foundation, and the UCLA Digital Library.
IAMIC (International Association of Music Centres)
Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress.
CCWA (Contemporary Composers Web Archive)
The Sonic Dictionary
Tips for Finding CDs in the Music Library Collection
To find recordings in the library catalog,
Go to the
Music Library Homepage
Click "Recordings Only" in the search box to limit your search to recordings
Secondary Sources >>
Nov 22, 2019 10:02 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries