LibGuides: SOCIOL 490S: Pathways to Delinquency: Finding Data

Find Statistics and Numeric Data

Center for Data and Visualization Services at Duke
Duke's data and GIS collection covers a wide range of topics such as: business trends, education, statistics, healthcare, labor statistics, political behavior, and a full range of demographic information.

ICPSR Data Archive
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, is a membership-based organization which collects data from individual researchers, polling agencies, and governmental and international agencies. Its purpose is to maximize the availability and utilization of data resources by obtaining data and the technical documentation needed to access them for redistribution to its membership. Duke University's membership in ICPSR allows all Duke researchers to use ICPSR resources free of charge.

National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1997
"The NLSY97 consists of a nationally representative sample of approximately 9,000 youths who were 12 to 16 years old as of December 31, 1996. Round 1 of the survey took place in 1997. In that round, both the eligible youth and one of that youth's parents received hour-long personal interviews. In addition, during the screening process, an extensive two-part questionnaire was administered that listed and gathered demographic information on members of the youth's household and on his or her immediate family members living elsewhere. Youths are interviewed on an annual basis. "-- From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website

Roper Center
Preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations; provides links to the Catalog of Holdings, including iPOLL (organized at the question level, providing access to questions asked on national public opinion surveys from 1935 to the present), Public Opinion Matters, Election Data, and National Science Foundation surveys.

Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
Contains over 250 health, social, and behavioral research studies organized into 8 topical Data Archives: AIDS/STD, Disability in the U.S., American Family, Adolescent Pregnancy & Pregnancy Prevention, Aging, Maternal Drug Abuse, Contextual Data, Child Well-Being And Poverty..

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Search for data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations. NOTE: Users must register for a personal account. Previous login credentials will not provide access to Roper iPoll. A new account will be required.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps using United States demographic data going back to 1790
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using more than 100,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.

Sourcebook for Criminal Justice Statistics
University at Albany site for juvenile delinquency data.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Constitutes the United States' primary source for a wide variety of statistics related to crime, criminal offenders, crime victims, and government justice systems. Periodic data and information is gathered from interviews and surveys of individuals and households, as well as thousands of agencies and institutions that are part of the justice system.
Crime in the United States
This annual publication of the FBI is the main source of statistics of U.S. arrests and offences, listed by each state. The FBI web site provides the statistics in a downloadable format.
FedStats
This clearinghouse provides links to statistics from over 70 US Federal agencies. Quick access to categories, such as crime agencies, and a keyword search engine allowing precise searches (e.g., "capital punishment") are provided.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
This topical archive of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan contains data and offers training in quantitative analysis. Hundreds of downloadable CJ collections can be accessed free of charge, many of which originated at the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).