Skip to main content

Writing 101: Comparative Caribbean Emancipations

This course asks: How did slavery come to an end? What factors caused it to end at different times and in different ways in different societies? In what ways does its legacy continue to shape our contemporary world?

Freely Available Databases

  • Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña A repository of images and texts related to the history and culture of Puerto Rico.
  • Digital Library of the Caribbean   (dLOC) http://dloc.com  The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
  • Historical Document Repository (Brown University)   https://library.brown.edu/cds/slaveryandjustice/ Contains over one hundred and fifty historical documents, some six hundred manuscript pages in all, as well as introductory headnotes, bibliographic information, and technical data. The collection can be browsed by date, name, or type of document. Many of the documents have been transcribed, as part of an ongoing project. Compiled by the University Steering Committee on Slavery & Justice from sources at the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University, the Rhode Island Historical Society Library, and the Brown University Archives.
  • Legacies of British Slave Ownership (University College - London)    http://www.ucl.ac.uk/lbs/ Traces the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain and the significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833.
  • Slave Societies Digital Archive (formerly know as Ecclesiastical & Secular Sources for Slave Societies) is dedicated to digitally preserving endangered archives documenting the history of Africans in the Iberian colonies.

Licensed Commercial Databases (Duke Community)