Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the Resources
Important resources for environmental research abound: Issue overviews, databases, data sets, geospacial tools, etc., created and made available free to the public by the nonprofit and public sectors, as well as subscription-based resources from private publishers. This guide is extensive, but not comprehensive. If you would like to see a resource added to this list, please use the Submit a Site form, above.
Climate & Environment
BioOne Online Journals (subscription resource)
"BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. Complementing this content is an agile new platform launched in January 2009 that allows for easy navigation to content both within and outside the BioOne aggregation, as well as researcher-designed toolbars with valuable title, article, and reference-lin
Economic Instruments database - EEA OECD
You can find queries that provide information on environmentally related taxes, fees and charges, tradable permit systems, deposit refund systems, environmentally motivated subsidies and voluntary approaches used in environmental policy in OECD member countries, OECD accession countries, EEA member countries and countries otherwise co-operating with EEA, not being members of OECD. A number of other countries have also been invited to provide information for the database, and information on some environmentally related taxes in South Africa is available.
Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Energy Research Centre of the Netherlands: Publications
The Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) benchmarks the ability of nations to protect the environment over the next several decades by integrating 76 data sets –tracking natural resource endowments, past and present pollution levels, environmental management efforts, and a society’s capacity to improve its environmental performance –into 21 indicators of environmental sustainability. The site provides access to the latest ESI report and an archive for the 2000, 2001, and 2002 versions.
Environment Complete (subscription resource)
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
In keeping with our commitment to environmental consciousness, EBSCO proudly offers GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positi
IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
"The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the leading body for the assessment of climate change, established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) to provide the world with a clear scientific view on the current state of climate change and its potential environmental and socio-economic consequences. The site contains downloadable IPCC reports and data as well as information on the activities of the IPCC."
Mongabay.com seeks to raise interest in and appreciation of wild lands and wildlife, while examining the impact of emerging trends in climate, technology, economics, and finance on conservation and development.
"A global information system on Coral Reefs."*
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (WCMC)
"The UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) is a collaboration between the United Nations Environment Programme and WCMC 2000, a UK-based charity. Their mission is “To evaluate and highlight the many values of biodiversity and put authoritative biodiversity knowledge at the centre of decision-making.” The site contains such information as a species database, protected areas database, conservation atlases and maps, and links to WCMC publications."
Web of Knowledge - BIOSIS Previews (subscription resource)
"BIOSIS Previews serves your every need for finding life sciences references. BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information from more than 5,500 sources all around the world, including journal articles, meeting and conference reports, books, and patents." You can search BIOSIS and both Web of Knowledge dabases at the same time.
WorldClim - Global Climate Data
Use this database to download climate data for current conditions, future conditions, or past conditions.
Climate & Energy - About the Issue
Energy use, and determining the sustainable levels of energy use, are critical and contentious issues today. Read more about how energy affects all aspects of enviromental and conservation work.