Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What did your Grandparents do? A Global Exploration of Individual Life Histories: Getting Started

Background Information

Encyclopedia of World History
ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged


Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

 History Reference Online
(ABC-CLIO Reference Ebooks)


Oxford Reference Online: History
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

Biographies

Databases

Use the library databases to find scholarly materials:

Historical

America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for articles on the history of the U.S. and Canada.
 
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles about the history of all world areas except the U.S. and Canada.
 
Ancestry.com
A database of historical information about people.
 
City Directories
Useful to identify individuals in their communities
 

Contemporary

PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes academic journal articles, book chapters, and some government documents for Public Policy and Political Science

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, interdisciplinary full text database.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.

 

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway's picture
Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu