Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Interdisicplinary Databases
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The core database for East, South and Southeast Asian Studies. Covers books and articles published from 1949 on. Not full-text.
This list includes: an index of book chapters and journals on Asian Studies (BAS), several full-text indexes not limited to Asia (Academic One File - Proquest), two full-text periodical databases that complement each other (JSTOR does not include recent issues, while Project Muse does not have the backfile) and two sources about dissertations.
Academic One File
11,000 journals with full-text articles
British Humanities Index
BHI is a current awareness tool that provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing
Periodicals Index Online
Indexes thousands of selected periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. ProQuest includes several databases that may be searched together or individually.
A database of archived issues of academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages and typically appear 3-5 years after publication. For more recent articles, see Project Muse or the journal titles themselves.
A database of e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses.
Dissertations & theses: full text.
Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Includes over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations (with a current focus on Chinese History, Japan Studies, and Korean Studies – but with many more disciplines joining soon). The goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication.
Recommended Subject Headings for Women in East Asia
- Runaway wives --China.
- Women --China --History.
- Women --Legal status, laws, etc. --China --History.
- Women --China --Social conditions.
- Women --Japan.
- Women --Japan --History.
- Women --Korea --History.
- Women --Japan --Mito-han.
- Women --Education --Japan.
- Sex role --Korea --History.
- Sex role --Korea --History --20th century.
- Feminism --Japan.
- Feminism --Japan --History.
- Women --Employment --Japan.
- Women --Employment --Japan --History.
- Marriage law --China.
- Marriage --China --History.
- Footbinding --China.
- Families --China --History.
- Kinship --China --History.
- Comfort women --Korea --History.
- Women missionaries --Korea --History.
- Women in missionary work --Korea --History.
- Family policy --China.
- Family size --Government policy --China.
- Birth control --Government policy --China.
- Abortion --Government policy --China.
- China --Population policy.
- Law --China.
- Law --China --Bibliography.
- Law --China --History.
- Law --China --History --20th century.
- Law --China --Hong Kong.
- Law reform --China.
- Civil law --China --History.
- Children --Government policy --China.
- Medical policy --China.
- Inheritance and succession --China --History.
- Right of property --China --History.
- China --Social policy.
- Public welfare --China.
- Poor --Government policy --China.
- China --Cultural policy.
- Literacy --Government policy --China --History.
- China --History --Republic, 1912-1949 --Sources.
- China --History --Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976 --Personal narratives.
- China --Statistics.
- East Asia --History.
- East Asia --Civilization.
- East Asia --Civilization --Confucian influences.
- East Asia --Social conditions.
- Confucianism --Social aspects.
- Korea --Civilization --Confucian influences.
- Neo-Confucianism --Korea.
- Neo-Confucianism --Korea --History.
Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus
In-depth critical analysis of the forces shaping the Asia-Pacific . . . and the world. The Asia-Pacific Journal seeks to illuminate the geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, international relations and forces for change in the modern and contemporary Asia-Pacific.
Comprehensive retrospective of contemporary international relations within South, Southeast, and East Asian nations.
Critical Asian Studies
Born out of the crisis of the Indochina Wars as an attempt to analyze U.S. policy in cold war Asia.
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
Primary focuses on premodern history and literature.
Journal of Asian Studies
The professional journal for the field.
Positions: East Asia cultures critique.
Seeks to place cultural critique at the center of historical and theoretical practice by accounting for positions as places, contexts, power relations, and links between knowledge and knowers as actors in existing social institutions.
Asian Studies Librarians at Duke