Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note: advance slides forward and backward with arrows. Click on to expand to full screen.
Review the slides above to learn how to:
- Look for a full text option in a database
- Use to find the full text of an article in the library
- Watch this 2-minute tutorial on using Get it at Duke
The "Articles" search on the DKU Library homepage, is a good place to begin a search.
In addition, these databases can be used to search for articles on your topic:
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Includes the use of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, and sociolinguistics.
Academic Search Complete
General database with good coverage of scholarly and popular articles on a wide range of topics.
Unlike the general Google search engine, Google Scholar searches across scholarly publications (articles, books, and other materials).
Full-text database of major scholarly journals from their earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
Full text access to U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts; 1970s-present.
Materials related to earthquakes, humanities, and anthropology
Los Angeles Metropolitan Area Surveys [LAMAS] 3, 1971
The Los Angeles Metropolitan Area Surveys [LAMAS] 3, 1971 collection reflects data gathered in 1973 as part of the Los Angeles Metropolitan Area Surveys (LAMAS). The LAMAS, beginning in the spring of 1970, are a shared-time omnibus survey of Los Angeles County community members, usually repeated twice annually.
National earthquake resilience : research, implementation, and outreach
The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) is the multi-agency program mandated by Congress to undertake activities to reduce the effects of future earthquakes in the United States. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)-the lead NEHRP agency-commissioned the National Research Council (NRC) to develop a roadmap for earthquake hazard and risk reduction in the United States that would be based on the goals and objectives for achieving national earthquake resilience described in the 2008 NEHRP Strategic Plan. National Earthquake Resilience does this by assessing the activities and costs that would be required for the nation to achieve earthquake resilience in 20 years.
Human Casualties in Earthquakes [electronic resource]: Progress in Modelling and Mitigation
Annotation Assessment of human casualties in earthquakes has become a topic of vital importance for national and urban authorities responsible for emergency provision, for the development of mitigation strategies and for the development of adequate insurance schemes.