LibGuides: GLHLTH 571K: Introduction to Maternal and Child Health: Finding Articles

Google Scholar Tips

Note: Click on to expand to full screen. Advance slides forward and backward with arrows.

How do I get to Google Scholar? http://scholar.google.com/

Essential e-resources (China Specific)

China Online Journals: Health & Medicine 万方医疗卫生期刊
Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China after 1997, some include abstracts in English.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services(Chinese, traditional) 臺灣電子期刊服務網
Covers many of the journals published in Taiwan in humanities and social sciences.
Duxiu (Chinese) 读秀
You are able to access more than 3 million digitized books published in P.R. China. Users can request the full text of selected book chapters using the interlibrary loan system embedded in the DuXiu scholar search engine (图书馆文献传递).
China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database (Chinese & English) 统计年鉴数据库
There are 630 titles and 3606 volumes of statistical yearbooks. Among them, 中国卫生和计划生育统计年鉴 covers relevant statistics from 2003 to 2014.
China Data Online (Chinese & English)
Includes the economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories.
Chinese Periodicals Index
Indexes titles of Chinese and Western language periodicals published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau since 1994.

Literature Reviews

What is a literature review? For some ideas look at the following guides:

Review of the literature: By the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Centre 2004
The literature review: a few tips: By Dena Taylor, University of Toronto 2004
Deakin University Study Skills: Reviewing the Literature: A very thorough guide to writing a literature review

Finding Specific Articles, Journals, and Databases

Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
Find specific research databases (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke Kunshan/Duke do not own by using document delivery.

Essential Databases

PubMed
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals

Use the following databases to find information in the field of global health. If you need assistance or can't find what you're looking for, Ask a Librarian!

Click the to get in to the database & search for full text.

Global Health and Global Health Archive
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety, hygiene and more. Contains particular strengths in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology. Contains records dating back to 1973.
Web of Science (ISI)
Provides access to the Science Citation Expanded® (1900-present) and Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present). Use this resource to find highly cited authors and scholarly works, as well as track journal impact factors.
Scopus
Provides access to major peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Good coverage of fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Relevant Disciplinary Databases

African Index Medicus (AIM)
A joint initiative between the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) to store regionally-generated biomedical information.

Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
indexes the health and biomedical journals published in the Region since 1984.
Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (LILACS)
A cooperative database of the VHL network that covers the health sciences literature published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982.
NIH RePORTER
Information about projects funded by NIH grants; includes links to publications by and about the project.
PsycInfo
Basic index to psychological literature.
Agricola
Includes literature on food and nutrition.
SocIndex with Full Text
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines. It features more than 2,066,400 records;and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers.
Political Science Complete
Covers public policy, government, and political science.
CINAHL Complete