Skip to main content

GSF 390S.06: Fashion and Feminism

Rubenstein Library, 080E
Box 90185
DurhamNC  27708-0185
Phone: +1-919-660-5967

Magazines

In addition to the rich archives in the Rubenstein Library (Duke's Special Collections), check out the long print-runs and online coverage for these journals:

Vogue - Lilly Library (print from 1932 to present)

Harper's Bazaar - Lilly Library (print from 1931 to present)

America's Fabrics and Fashions - Lilly Library (from 1972-1986)

Women's Wear Daily (aka W) - online coverage from 10/1/1999 to present

WWD - online coverage from 5/19/2004 to present

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are first-hand accounts of an event. Primary sources are wide-ranging and include newspaper articles (from the time period that an event took place), letters, diaries, interviews, laws, reports of government commissions, and many other types of documents. Duke University Libraries has a wealth of primary source databases as well as special collections manuscript materials housed in the Rubenstein Library.

Rubenstein Library Guides

These links are to subject guides created to help locate special collections materials on a variety of topics. The materials we shared in your class session were drawn from some of these guides.

Online Resources

The Sixties: primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974 - includes sections on the Sexual Revolution and the Women's Movement during this time period in America.

Everyday life & women in America c.1820-1900 - this digital collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of print materials addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 - Bbowsable by social movement, project question, author, document genre (advertisement, diary, etc), and subject. Searchable by detailed fields such as nationality, occupation, date, organizations or people discussed, ancestry, and keyword.

Picture Post - British popular magazine heavily illustrated.  Great research tool, limits to articles with images, etc.

Historic American Sheet Music - Image-rich, keyword searchable of American printed music covers

Advertising collections - Digitized advertisements from several Duke collections curated by the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.

America's Historical Newspapers -  search U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Harper's Weekly - published from 1857 to 1912, this was a popular and influential magazine in the United States; complete runs of Harper's Weekly (1857-1916) are also available in Special Collections and Perkins Newspaper and Microforms.


Lexis/Nexis Academic - newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper). Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.

America's Newspapers - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement

"There was a young woman who swallowed a lie..."
Illustrated satirical poem by Meredith Tax

From the Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement Digital Collection
Also available in print: Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives, box 12

freedomtrashcan

From the Miss America Protests, 1968 and 1969 Digital Collection

Sallie Bingham Center

Kelly Wooten's picture
Kelly Wooten
Contact:
Reference Librarian, Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Rubenstein Library; Librarian for Sexuality Studies
919-660-5967
Website

Ask a Librarian