Skip to main content

Art and the History of Medicine: Manuscripts

Introduction

Manuscript Collection includes primary source documents, such as correspondence, news clippings, photographs, sound, or video recordings.

Each of the collections listed is linked to a finding aid.  A finding aid provides an inventory for each collection: the documents and other items that make up the collection are described topically and by their location in a particular box or folder. The date range that appears after the collection's title indicates the chronological span of the materials in the collection.

Manuscript Collections

Journal, 1894-1912Collection consists of a midwife's journal of deliveries. Included is each infant's name, date of birth (and sometimes death), birth weight, parent's name, name of delivering doctor and in most cases a lock of the baby's hair.

Philip Turner Papers, 1751-1858, 1881 - Philip Turner (1740-1815) was a noted surgeon from Norwich, Connecticut and New York, New York. The Philip Turner Papers Collection spans from 1751 to 1858 and contains correspondence, military hospital returns, printed material, and ledgers documenting Philip Turner's career as a surgeon in private practice in Norwich, Connecticut and New York, New York, in the Continental Army, and in the United States Army. Items include correspondence with George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, William Eustis, Henry Dearborn, John Morgan, William Shippen, and other prominent Americans. Also includes materials on Turner's family.

TashrÄ«h al-badan - This Persian MS is a copy made in the early 17th century of a 14th century MS, and is in a clear, elegant hand. The text is bordered with gold and red. The MS begins with an intricately ornamented title panel in blue, red, green, and gold. There are six full-page anatomical diagrams, in several colors. The treatise concerns human anatomy.

William H. Helfand collection of medical prints and posters, 1695-1991, bulk 1800-1899 - William Helfand is a scholar of pharmaceutical history and art, and collector of ephemera and art related to medicine. The William H. Helfand Collection of Medical Prints and Posters consists of 34 prints and posters realted to the history of medicine and pharmacology, dating from 1695 to 1991, with the bulk of the prints dating from 19th century. Paris, France is the provenance for many of the posters, but several hail from England and the United States. The posters are represented in two formats: lithographs and engravings, some of which are hand colored. Ranging in size from 5"x8" to 19"x23", the prints include caricatures, political satire, comics and advertisements, dealing with a range of subjects from quacks, alchemy, charlatans and cheats, to pastoral and hospital scenes. George Cruikshank and Honoré Daumier are represented amongst the artists. Acquired as part of the History of Medicine Collections at Duke University.