Skip to main content

Writing 101: Prisons and Imprisonment: Finding Primary Sources

Online Newspapers

Historical Coverage:

America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.

19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.

African-American Newspapers provides access to hundreds of titles published from 1827 to 1998.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. Coverage begins in 1827 but varies by title.

Individual Titles:

Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Baltimore Sun (1837-1989); Chicago Tribune (1849-1991); Los Angeles Times (1881-1991); The New York Times (1851-2011); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1997); The Washington Post (1877-1998). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers provides access to scanned images from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); The Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); and: The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975). Note: The Chicago Defender is particularly important resource as it was a vocal proponent of the northern migration.

Online Primary Sources -- Duke

Not everything is scholarly or authoritative

Librarians and faculty spend time selecting quality materials (books, journals, and e-resources) especially for your interests and for your classes.