Skip to main content

Writing 101: Prisons and Imprisonment: Finding Books

Finding Background Information: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 Online Reference Collections

ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword. 

 Oxford Reference Online provides access to a selection of reference titles.  The database homepage displays a listing of all the accessible titles. so you can quickly identify the ones that pertain to U.S. history.

Blackwell Reference Online is an online collection of the well regarded Blackwell companions.  You can browse by subject, search the entire collection, or search within a specific work.

Specific Titles of Interest: Print and Online

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

Encyclopedia of African American Society

Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration (3 vols., print): Lilly and Perkins Reference, E185.6 .E54 2006

 

 

 

 

Search Tips for Books and More

If you find a book in our online catalog (books and media) that looks of interest, click the title and look at the subject headings.  You can click on the subject headings to lead you to other books on your topic.

 

Interested in limiting your results by format (book, DVD, etc.), language, or date?  Use the facets on the left-hand side to help you narrow your results.

Looking for primary resources like memoirs, correspondence, diaries or letters? To identify these resources in the online catalog, look for the subdivisions, correspondence, interviews, sources, diaries and personal narratives. Any of these terms can be used in the keyword search mode. You can also limited your search by location  -- The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library has a stellar American South collection, and the University Archives houses the records of Duke University.