Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Look here for background information about a topic. This will help you as you develop search strategies in the periodical databases.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics. Coverage starts in 1973 and it draws from over 1,500 different publications for it's contents. Use the "get it at Duke" link to find full-text or print access to the articles.
MLA International Bibliography
Index of more than 1.2 million journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage is international and subjects include language and linguistics.
Contains more than 2.6 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Look here for information about neuropsychology and neurolinguistics.
This is an open-access database of scholarly and research literature in medicine, including neuroscience and neurolinguistics. Established and made available by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Web of Knowledge
This is a citation index, and is slightly less accurate if you're doing a subject search. In it you can track the bibliography of a particular article, as well as all the articles which subsequently cite it. It is, however, one of the most extensive databases of scholarly information and for comprehensive searching, one of the essential tools
JSTOR Archive of Arts and Sciences
Provides easy full text access to 41 journals in linguistics.Note that Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts draws its conent from over 1,500 different publications.
This is a union catalog which accesses over 55,000 members libraries in the United States and overseas. If you wanted to find every English title on a particular topic, you must search here. It also includes foreign language titles, but only if they've been acquired by member libraries. See your librarian if you need to do comprehensive searching in foreign languages.