Skip to main content
Primary Sources - Western Europe
Search this Guide
Primary Sources - Western Europe: Recommended Databases
Consult the guide to
Archival Research in Europe
Primary Sources for Western Europe Recommended Databases
Provides search for nearly one million guides to inventories that contain detailed information about archival collections for the US and England.
Includes collections on German Folklore, the Dreyfus Affair, Economy and War, Witchraft and more.
ARTFL project, University of Chicago
Contains nearly 2600 from the Trésor de la Langue Française.
Bertold Brechts Werke
The work of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956) based on the Suhrkamp edition.
Corpus de la littérature francophone d'Afrique
Full text collection covering the entire French speaking Sub-Saharan Africa, from Benin to Togo, representing about twenty countries and more than a hundred ethnic groups.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW
Covers the work of more than thirty authors, including early German texts and philosophy.
DigiZeitschriften: das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv
Provides full-text access to German journals and annuals, often covering them in their entirety. Some start in the 1800s.
Offers access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century.
A catalog of over 2 million digital objects from European libraries, archives, museums, and special collections.
Gallica: la bibliothèque numérique
Contains full-text books and serials covering the cultural history of France from the Middle Ages to the 19th century
HathiTrust is a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries; contains historic sources in many languages
In the first person
Indexes 4000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives in English from around the world, including Europe.
Kafkas Werke im WWW
Searchable critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (Fischer edition).
Medieval and early modern sources online
Covers Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800).
Medieval family life
Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses and the Black Death
Medieval travel writing
Provides a collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Provides a selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Original Sources in their own words
Collections in the fields of World History, U.S. History, Social Science, Science & Mathematics, Political Science & Law, Philosophy & Religion, Literature, and Language.
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England, 1275-1504
Provides access to the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272 – 1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485 – 1509)
Provides the full text of classic scholarly editions of the complete works of many philosophers 1600 to 1900.
The making of the modern world: the Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature
Provides access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century
Women, war & society, 1914-1918
British charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings along with interpretative essays from leading scholars.
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Western European Studies
Oct 5, 2018 12:42 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
french and francophone studies
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries