LibGuides: Latino/a Studies in the Social Sciences: Recommended Databases

Articles & Journals

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of the field and help to keep researchers up to date in their areas of interest.

TIP: In addition to the databases below, search the Duke Libraries database tab for frequently used, general databases such as JSTOR, Project Muse, Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete. They all contain articles on Latino/a issues.

Chicano Database
Provides citations to the literature written by and about Chicanos (Mexican-Americans) and other Latinos in the United States. Citations added since 1992 also cover Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
CQ Researcher
Provides reports on issues in the news, including coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. 1920s to Present.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexican border, and Hispanics in the U.S. published from 1970 forward. Those articles contained in the database PRISMA have their full-text cross-linked in HAPI.
Informe
Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.
OpinionArchives
OpinionArchives the full-text of major journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, NACLA, American Spectator, National Review, Harper's and Scientific American.
PAIS International
This database provides selective coverage of a wide variety of international and public policy issues from 1915-present. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and the web. It covers the The U.S. and Africa, Australia & New Zealand, Canada, Central Asia & the Caucasus, Central & Eastern Europe, East Asia (China, Japan & Korea), Latin America & the Caribbean, Middle East, Russia & the Former Soviet Union, South Asia (India, Pakistan), Southeast Asia & Oceania, and Western Europe.
Pew Hispanic Center
Contains publications, interactive maps, data and demographics on Latinos/as.
Political Science Complete
Top-ranked scholarly journals in Political Science and Public Policy, some government documents. Covers comparative politics, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology.
SocINDEX with full text
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, 1908-present

Newspapers

Alternative Press Index
Contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.

TIP: In addition to the databases below, search under the Duke databases tab for important individual U.S. titles such as the New York Times and Washington Post in the database ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from over 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Coverage 1959 to present.
Latin American Newsstand
Full text of over 70 publications including most major newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean in Spanish, Portuguese and some English from the mid-1990s-Present. Also includes some Latino newspapers.
Nexis Uni
Provides full text access to a range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts from the 1970s to the present
America's Newspapers
A collection of important regional newspapers in the U.S.
World Newspaper Archive
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe, including an entire module of U.S. and Latin American Newspapers from the 19th and 20th Centuries.

Primary Sources

Archive Grid
An index to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom.

TIP: The databases listed above under "Newspapers," contain newspaper articles which are primary sources for the time periods they cover.

Archives of the Puerto Rican Diaspora
The Archives preserve and make available for research unique primary materials documenting the history and culture of the Puerto Rican Diaspora with a concentration on New York City. Contains photos, individual and organization papers.
Avalon Project
Primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Bracero History Archive
Documents the history of the 4.6 million Mexicans who came to the U.S. as temporary workers.
In the First Person
Indexes 4000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives in English from around the world.
Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives
A collection of papers and photos held at the Library of California State University Northridge.
Official Documents of the United Nations
Full text of all UN documents, including resolutions and decisions, issued at UN Headquarters in New York and the UN Office at Geneva since 1993, with selected earlier coverage.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
U. of Miami, Cuban Heritage Collection, Luis J. Botifol Oral History Project
A collection of oral histories of Cuban-Americans.