Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BEST PLACE TO START
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The core database for East, South and Southeast Asian Studies. Covers books, book chapters and articles published from 1949 to the present.
Articles -- All Subjects
100+ years of international academic periodical literature from more than 40 countries in the humanities and social sciences.
Archived issues of core, academic journals. Articles typically appear 3-5 years after publication.
e-journals published by university presses; includes most recent issues.
Books & Articles -- Arts & Humanities
MLA International Bibliography
Books & articles in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video.
Comprehensive Art Database Search (Ebsco combined search)
Combined search of 1) Art & Architecture Complete, 2) Art Full Text, and 3) Art Index Retrospective. Duplicate entries automatically eliminated. Most powerful single art search available.
Images in art, architecture and archaeology for many time periods and cultures.
ATLA Religion Database
International periodicals in the fields of religion and theological studies from 1949 to the present.
Literature Resource Center
Full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Comprehensive coverage of each region’s musical heritage and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
Books & Articles -- History
Authoritative index of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages from 1955 to the present.
Cambridge Histories Online
Titles published since 1960, including histories of Ancient China, Japan, Southeast Asia, India and Chinese literature.
60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies in five sections: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism c1607-2007.
Books & Articles -- Social Sciences
Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, & Internet material on public policy issues from 1915-present.
Political Science Complete
Indexes and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers on law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
EconLit with Full Text
Indexes articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance, production, welfare, inflation, accounting, international trade, consumer finance, political economy, and business credit.
ISI Emerging Markets
Company directory information, financial data, and news from the world's emerging markets. Covers China, Hong Kong, India, Southeast Asia and other countries.
Language instructional system for 70+ languages.
News; see also Databases for Asian Newspapers
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
Translations of foreign broadcasts and publications done by the U.S. intelligence community for policy makers and analysts; provides foreign perspectives on events. It includes the Daily Reports for 1941-1974 and the Daily Report Annexes for 1974-1996.
World News Connection
Compiled from non-U.S. media sources, it includes English translations of selected newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Generally, this information is available within 24-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
Contact a specialist for in-depth research information on Asian Studies.
Miree Ku: Korea 919-660-5817
Vacant : South & Southeast Asia
Luo Zhou: China 919-660-5803
International & Area Studies, Perkins Library