Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersUse for: major US and historical black newspapers
Tip: Coverage varies, with many going back to the 19th century. Look at the scope note ("see more").
- America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.
Online Primary Sources
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery including the Middle Passage
- Sabin Americana
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
- 19th Century British Pamphlets
- LexisNexis Congressional
U.S. bills, laws, regulations, Congressional debate, hearings, and committee reports.
Tip: Print or carefully copy the citation if it's not full-text. Use the SuDoc # or Serial Set vol. # to locate publications in Public Documents.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives; 1817-1980 currently available.
Tip: The print Serial Set is available in Perkins' Public Documents collection.
- Access UN
Use for: Identifying United Nations legislative documents
Tips: If they are not full-text, take the citation to the Public Documents department to locate the documents.
Dig deeper: Many primary sources have been preserved on microforms, and are not available online. See the tips for searching the catalog, and the database Primary Sources in US History to identify microform sets. You can limit an advanced search in the catalog to format: microforms.
One example to note: Papers of the Nixon White House.
For uncataloged collections in the Microforms Department: see the Checklist of Microform Collections...in the Reference Desk collection, LD1732.D8k C543 1986; browse under "US Dept. of State" or name of President.
Catalog Tips-Primary Sources
* Add subject keyword "sources" to your search terms
* Search subject keyword "united states foreign relations sources" AND [keyword for your country or topic]
* Search title "confidential us state department central files" for microform sets
* Search "documentary history of the [ ] presidency"
* Search for newspaper titles and check the years covered (see News section of this guide)
Publications from 1962 in Perkins News-Micro Microfiche S5892s, or in print (search the catalog), plus many reports online.
Includes country reports on human rights.
Human Rights Watch
Publications from 1980-1999 in Perkins Microfiche; current publications in catalog by title, and many reports online.
Non-governmental Organizations research guide
Both a research guide and a database of NGO web sites, focusing on women and development, environmentally sustainable development, and human rights.