Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to Pan American World Airways: JWT Collections: K-Z

JWT Collections: K-Z

J. Walter Thompson Company. Legal Department Records, 1936-1979
The materials in this collection are primarily legal documents. The collection includes two boxes with documents pertaining to Pan Am including legal contracts and signed photographic release forms.

J. Walter Thompson Company. New Business Records, 1924-2006 and undated, bulk 1980-1989
This collection includes multiple boxes and several folders of Pan Am material. Materials include financial analysis and market planning reports, briefing materials, press coverage of Pan Am advertisements created by JWT, meeting schedules, promotional materials, and promotional strategies. The bulk of these documents date from 1988 and 1991. 

J. Walter Thompson Company. Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005
The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency’s internally produced newsletters, which date from 1916 to 2005 with topics varying widely. Four issues contain references to Pan Am World Ariways including ones from 1956 to 1960 and primarily focus on contemporary ad campaigns for Pan Am.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Norman H. Strouse Papers, 1852-1990 and undated
This collection contains a single bar graph chart with budget information for the Pan Am account from 1956-1963.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Review Board Records, 1947-1976
The Review Board Records, document the New York Office’s primary mechanism of service quality control. The records consist of meeting minutes, correspondence, memoranda, and reports. The collection has two boxes relating to Pan Am with documents spanning from 1955 to 1970. Materials include meeting minutes, account summaries, and advertising proposals. Topics include Pan Am business jets, Latin American and other overseas divisions, as well as passenger and cargo services.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Shirley F. Woodell Papers, 1943-1958
This collection contains extensive documents regarding Woodell’s involvement with Pan Am’s Latin America division. The materials span from 1946 to 1958 and include personal letters, field notes, and contact information for account personnel. Of particular interest are Woodell’s notes on his experience as a Pan Am passenger, his letters pertaining to the possible acquisition of the Pan Am account, and his description of Pan Am’s facilities, staff, and competitive position in Latin America.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files
Box 6 of this collection contains documents pertaining to Pan Am from 1955 to 1967. They include information regarding Pan Am’s global account, newspaper articles regarding the airline, and copies of competitors’ advertisements. In addition, the collection includes copies of advertisements featuring Pan Am’s “In every man’s heart there’s a secret place he would like to go” campaign.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Ted Wilson Papers, 1966-1977
This collection primarily documents Wilson’s career as an administrator coping with JWT’s financial difficulties during the mid-1970s. The collection contains a single folder pertaining to Pan Am from the period of December 1969 to November 1970. The folder primarily houses advertisements from three ad campaigns during this period. Additional materials include review board records and a market research study. 

J. Walter Thompson Company. Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975 and undated
Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT’s international operations during the 1960s and 1970s. The collection includes extensive document regarding JWT’s Pan Am accounts in Central and South America, including Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Chile, Colombia, and Peru. Materials include budget documents, schedules of billings, performance reports, personnel records, personal letters, and memoranda.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Virgil D. Reed and Lubertus Smilde Papers, 1944-1960
This collection contains a market research study from 1958 predicting overseas travel based on education.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Winfield Taylor Papers, 1948-1960 and undated
This collection includes documents from Taylor, who served as a copywriter at JWT before becoming a Vice President. Box 11 contains documents pertaining to Pan Am from 1957 to 1960. The majority of these materials feature copy from advertising campaigns from 1958 and 1959. Additional documents include marketing analysis information, ideas for new ads, trip reports, commercial scripts, ad write ups, and budget documents.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Writings and Speeches, 1912-2000 and undated
This collection contains multiple boxes with documents relevant to Pan Am. The majority of these materials include client talks from 1951 to 1963. Topics and venues include annual sales meeting reports, market studies, economic outlooks, and specific advertising campaigns. Many of these boxes contain hand written notes and articles with charts.