Skip to Main Content

Black Church Resources

This guide provides resources to support the Black Church Studies program at the Duke Divinity School. Guide created by Karen Jean Hunt.

Librarian for African & African American Studies

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

236 Bostock Library
919-660-5930

Subjects: African & African American Studies, African American Studies, African Studies

Introductions and overviews

Encyclopedia of African American Christian heritage by McMickle, Marvin Andrew
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of African American religions by Larry G. Murphy, J. Gordon Melton, and Gary L. Ward
Publication Date: 1993
Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions by Stephen D. Glazier
Publication Date: 2001

Finding books

Duke University Libraries Catalog
Search for books and media available in Duke Libraries.
eBooks
Search for Duke-licensed and free eBooks

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search over 36 million items from libraries worldwide

Finding articles

Search the following research databases for journal articles related to Black Church Studies.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
ProQuest Black Studies This link opens in a new window
Combines primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings by major American Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies.

Finding primary sources

Research Databases: Primary Sources in African American Studies
Connect to Duke Libraries Research Databases that contain primary sources including newspapers, papers of civil rights activists and organizations, immigration records, and records from the slave trade.

Denominational resources

Official websites of African American church denominations.

Selected books on Black church history and theory

African American Religious Thought: An Anthology by Cornel West (Editor); Eddie S. Glaude (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003
Black Religion and Black Radicalism: An Interpretation of the Religious History of African Americans by Gayraud S. Wilmore
Publication Date: 1998
Black Theology and Black Power by James H. Cone
Publication Date: 1997
A Black Theology of Liberation by James H. Cone
Publication Date: 1970
Sexuality and the Black Church by Kelly Brown Douglas
Publication Date: 1999
Sisters in the Wilderness: The Challenge of Womanist God-talk by Delores S. Williams
Publication Date: 1993
Slave Religion: The "Invisible Institution" in the Antebellum South by Albert J. Raboteau
Publication Date: 2004
The Talking Book: African Americans and the Bible by Allen Dwight Callahan
Publication Date: 2006

Last Updated: Mar 1, 2024 11:20 AM
URL: https://guides.library.duke.edu/blackchurchresources
Print Page