Skip to main content

Living Through the Great War: Other Collections of Primary Sources

WRITING 101.14

Primary Resources

Duke's Rubenstein Special Collections Library obviously  has original books and manuscripts from various eras and areas of history.  You will identify these collections in the Library catalog and in class.

There are also  a large number of  primary sources housed in specialized online databases available through the Duke LIbrary Subscriptions.  Here are a few examples- many more are available

Elizabeth Dunn's Notes from Rubenstein Presentation

A Guide to Rubenstein Material

Living Through the Great War, Writing 101-91, Kristen Neuschel, Spring 2014

Material on display on February 17:

[This will all be kept on hold in the Rubenstein until the deadline for your paper.]

Manuscript Collections [On MSS hold under surname.]

Ann Henshaw Gardiner Papers—nurse who served in France

Henry S. Baker, Jr. Papers—includes correspondence from Henry S., Jr. and Samuel, the sons who went to fight in WWI.

Frederick Edwards Papers—Includes the letters of Trevenen Edwards, who fought in France during WWI.

Please note that we have many other manuscript collections related to World War I. Check the catalog or ask Elizabeth Dunn or another Rubenstein staff member for more information.

Other Material

French postcards—from the Francis Eugene Seymour Papers. [On MSS hold under “S.”]

Sheet music—“When the Good Lord Makes a Record of a Hero’s Deed, He Draws No Color Line,” and “I Don’t Know Where I’m Going, but I’m on my Way,””Over There,” “I Never Believed in Angels until I met You,” “I’m Goin’ to Fight My Way Right Back to Carolina,” “My Sweetheart is Somewhere in France,” and “The Rose of No Man’s Land.”  [On Oversize book holds under D.]

These and many more examples of Duke’s World War I sheet music, are part of our Historic American Sheet Music digital project. Search by keyword, subject heading (World War, 1914-1918, Songs and music) or date.

The two tattered volumes of sheet music I showed are here: Over There [On regular book holds under D.]

Newspapers—The World, June, 1914 and November, 1916 volumes. [On oversize book holds under D.]

For other original newspapers, search the catalog (choose Advanced Search, limit to Rubenstein, and search a newspaper title). The inventory of the American Newspaper Repository Collection lists many of our late 19th- and early 20th-century titles.

Useful information about working in the Rubenstein:

This page provides information about registering as a Rubenstein user, requesting material, finding the Rubenstein, and what to expect when you work in the reading room. I will keep the material I showed on hold in the Rubenstein for a few weeks, but please remember that most of our collections are held offsite and require up to 48 weekday hours’ advance notice for us to get them to Perkins for you.

Lowell Aptman Prize and Chester P. Middlesworth Award for the best student papers. All awards come with a $1,000 prize.

Our hours: 9:00 am-9:00 pm M-Th, 9:00-5:00 Fri., 1:00-5:00 Sat. Closed Sunday. (Exception:  the week of March 10-14 we will close at 5:00 each day because of Spring Break.)

Please contact me if you have questions! Elizabeth Dunn, elizabeth.dunn@duke.edu, 919-660-5824919-660-5824.

Images as Primary Sources

From Special Collections