Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Muslims in America: Rubenstein Library & Other Archives

Rubenstein Library

Special collections & manuscript materials are handled according to rules and procedures established by Rubenstein Library. Please consult Rubenstein's Research page before you request any items.

Rosenthal, Mel.
Mel Rosenthal photographs and papers, 1975-2004
Rubenstein Library Finding aid
Includes 25 16x20 and 21 11x14 gelatin silver prints from Rosenthal's exhibit "ARAB AMERICANS - AMERICAN BY CHOICE." This exhibit documented Arabic-speaking Americans, many of whom were living in New York State. Acquired as part of the Archive of Documentary Arts.
Webb, Alexander Russell, 1846-1916.
Alexander Russell Webb papers, 1892 [manuscript].
Rubenstein Library Manuscripts 2nd 83:D Finding Aid
Notes: U.S. consul to Manila and Islamic missionary and publisher, of New York, N.Y. Chiefly journals of Webb's first months of missionary work after his resignation as U.S. consul in Manila, including his encounters with Muslim leaders and communities and travel experiences in Singapore, Pinang, Rangoon, and Calcutta, Bombay, Hyderabad, Madras, and other Indian cities. Microfilm available.

Other Archival Collections

Faris and Yamna Naff Arab American Collection, ca. 1880-1950. (Smithsonian)
This collection grew out of a major research project by Dr. Alixa Naff on the study of the early Arab immigrant experience in the United States--ca.1880-World War II. The study began with oral history interviews in 1962 and became a major project in 1980 with a grant from NEH. The collection process continues. A new series, No. 13, "Arab Americans since World War II," brings some aspects of the collection into the present.
Immigration History Research Center (U. Minnesota)
Center for Migration Studies of New York (CMS)
Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies at North Carolina State University
is dedicated to research about Lebanese immigrants in the US and throughout the world, and to preserving and sharing that knowledge with the scholarly community and general public.