Skip to main content

LINGUIST 202: Languages of the World: Find Articles

Tips for Using Databases

  • Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.
  • Need help choosing a database? Check out this short tutorial (1 min).
  • Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.
  • Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.
  • Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Key Databases

Use these databases to look for articles on your topic:

  • Linguistics + Language
    Covers the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
  • MLA Intl Bibliography
    Index to international critical journal articles, books and dissertations on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Project Muse
    Database of e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses

More Databases

  • Historical Abstracts
    Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • America: History and Life
    Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, with indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
  • PAIS International
    Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.
  • Anthropology Plus
    Database of citations from the Anthropological Literature database and the Anthropological Index; includes physical and cultural anthropology, and archeology from the late 19th century to the present.
  • JSTOR
    Database of archived issues of academic journals.

 

Your class librarian!

Greta Boers's picture
Greta Boers
Contact:
Lilly Library 108

Box 90725

T: 919-660-5864

F: 919-660-5999