Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Women's Education Centre of Japan (NWEC) (English)
NWEC, from its campus in Saitama, provides opportunities for study, exchange, and research for women's organizations and individuals, both in Japan and from abroad. Housing is available on-campus at very reasonable rates. NWEC's Information Centre for Women's Education collects Japanese and foreign materials/information for study and research on women and the family. It also constructs various databases and provides a nationwide on-line service on women's learning information through WINET, an internet-based bibliographic database.
WINET - Bibliographic databases on women and the family
- Database of books (29,000 items including non-Japanese sources)
- Database of local government publications (15,000 items)
- Database of Japanese periodical articles (32,500 items)
- Database of Japanese newspaper articles (100,400 items)
Feminist Theory Website: Feminism in Japan
Hosted by the Center for Digital Discourse and Culture at Virginia Tech University; includes a bibliography and links to other sites about Japanese feminists/feminism.
Asia Japan Women's Resource Center
Fax: 813 - 3463 - 9752 Tōkyō
The director, Matsui Yayori, is a former Asahi Shimbun international correspondent, author and activist on issues of women's rights.
Utopia: Women's Resources
The Utopia site contains a list of women's resources for China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, and Thailand. Utopia is devoted to Asian gay and lesbian issues.
Japanese Studies Librarian (Vacant)