Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- China, Japan, Korea & Pacific Island Studies; Videotapes in the University of California at Berkeley Media Resources Center
Gives synopses, length, citations for reviews.
- Harvard Film Archive
The Harvard Film Archive stores more than 8,000 films, largely 32 and 16mm films.
- Kinema Club
Has information on holdings in North American libraries, links to Japanese production companies, film festivals, actors, data and search engines, a discussion of Noel Burch's, To the Distant Observer, a guide to film specialty bookstores in Japan, and how to find prints in the US.
- Japanese Reference Materials for Studying Film (Yale University)
Covers reference works, internet sites and ephemera
Asian Educational Media Service
AEMS is a national clearinghouse for information about educational media (i.e., audio-visual) materials related to Asia. Maintains an up-to-date, computerized database of information about media which includes price and distributor information for materials still in print and holdings/lending information for materials held in the US. Can be searched by country, format, audience, subject, key word, title and date of production.
Bright Lights Film Journal Articles on Japanese Cinema
Articles on silent film, Kurosawa, gay films and more. Reviews of new releases.
Center for Asian American Media
Created to counter the scarcity of images of Asians in film and television, to correct the often distorted portrayals of them in the mainstream media and to create opportunities for the full participation of Asian American producers in the public media. Source of many of the PBS films on Asian Americans; covers all of Asia; for all age groups; includes ethnic heritage, Japanese internment, aging, activism, art and performance.
iFilm Connections: Asia and Pacific
A catalog of recent feature films and award winning films. Essays on Japanese cinema, and filmography of prominent directors such as Kurosawa
Includes Japanese, international, student and online film festivals.