Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites - General
Japan Considered Podcast
Weekly programs of analysis and commentary on Japan’s domestic politics and foreign relations. Role of the prime minister and cabinet, changes in Japan's domestic political environment, connecting voters and candidates, constitutional revision, and Japan’s relations with other Asian nations. These broadcasts are created by Japan Considered Project creator/maintainer, Robert Angel, and include short interviews with other specialists on Japanese politics and international relations.
Japanese Government Portal Site for e-government
A searchable site for Japanese Government information. Provides links to Ministry Homepages, Shingikai minutes, White Papers, statistical information, an index of laws searchable by name, keyword or number (some full text). There is an English search but no English site.
Contains links to articles on Japanese politics, a full text version of the Japanese Constitution, as well as official party websites. Follow the "back" button at bottom of page for similar resources for the rest of Asia and the world.
From the site: "Stanford Guide to Japan Information Resources [JGuide]. Provides links to the following:
Websites - Political Opinion & Controversy
Japan Focus presents writings about Japan, Japan in Asia and the world, as well as Japanese and international perspectives on contemporary Japanese politics, economics, society, and culture. It offers translations from Japanese, reprints of important English language texts, and Japan Focus originals. A subscription link to their weekly newsletter is available on the website.
The Japan Policy Research Institute
JPRI was founded in 1994 as a non-profit membership organization and headed by Chalmers Johnson, seeks to promote understanding of Japan's political economic behavior and growing significance in world affairs. It has just released its rather large corpus of papers published in 1996. The site is a serious tour de force of Japan scholars and a must-have resource for students and teachers alike.
NGOs and NPOs in Japan
The JAPAN NGO DIRECTORY
This directory provides a starting point for those wishing to contact someof the more active NGOs in Japan. The directory is divided into categories.
Provides statistics about the number and field of activity of NPOs in Japan. Can be searched by year, type, region. Lists 36,869 current NPOs.
Japan NPO Center
Library links to many relevant internet sites organized by focus (international cooperation, corporate philanthropy, art, gender equality, environment, welfare and citizen activities, social education, community design, labor, consumer problems). Also links to NPO Hiroba.
JANIC (Japan NGO Center for International Cooperation)
Includes a directory of 289 NGOs involved in international cooperation
Japanese Studies Librarian (Vacant)