LibGuides: Master of Arts in Christian Practice: New Testament

Quick Links

Links for library, Sakai, & tech pages

Library Catalog

The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.

Bible--New Testament

Web Resources

Recent internet resources added on the subject of "New Testament" See more bookmarks at our Delicious page.

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Use the scripture button to search specific scriptures.
Bible in English
Contains twenty versions of the Bible in English from 990-1970.
BibleWorks (at Divinity School Library only)
A biblical concordance and morphological analysis program containing the full text of 44 versions of the Bible in English, Greek, Hebrew plus 9 other languages.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
Gutenburg Digital
The Gottingen copy of the Gutenberg Bible, the Model Book and the Helmasperger Notarial Instrument are accompanied by explanatory texts about Gutenberg and his life, the early period of letterpress printing and its impact.
Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers.
New Testament Abstracts
A standard work for finding abstracts for articles about the New Testament. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Packard Humanities Institute (PHI) Database (CD-ROM only)
The 2 cds contain Latin and Bible texts from the Center for the Computer Analysis of Text at the University of Pennsylvania, the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri, and texts in Arabic and Coptic.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
The database permits full-text searching of almost all Greek texts in critical editions of the original Greek from the 8th century BCE through 200 CE.

Reference Books

Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992 at Divinity and Perkins
ISBN: 0385193513
New Testament exegesis : a handbook for students and pastors by Gordon D. Fee
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS2331 .F44 2002 at Divinity
ISBN: 0664223168
Novum Testamentum Graece
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS1965 2001 at Divinity
ISBN: 3438051001
Gospel parallels : a comparison of the synoptic gospels : with alternative readings from the manuscripts and noncanonical parallels by Burton H. Throckmorton, Jr.
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS2560 .T48 1992 at Divinity
ISBN: 0840774842
Theological dictionary of the New Testament [Kittel]
Call Number: Ref BS2312 .K5813 1964 at Divinity
ISBN: 0802822509