Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online primary sources
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Full text of many U.S. and European newspapers from recent years
- Times Digital Archive
Full text of The Times (London) from 1785-1985
- New York Times Historical
1851-3 years ago
presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Sabin Americana
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
reproduces over 125,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in English between 1475 and 1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
(ECCO) provides access to the complete works of many 18th century
authors, women writers of the 18th century and French Revolution
collections are included.
American Periodicals Series
(APS) provides access to full text images of popular American
newspaper, professional journals and magazines that began publication
America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
is an excellent source to identify articles from popular/general
interest magazines. It indexes over 200 magazines published in the
Finding Primary sources in the catalog
- Go to Advanced Search in the online catalog
- Under Subject enter "sources," "personal narratives" or "diaries"
- Under Keywords enter terms related to your topic
- Find Subject Headings related to your topic that include words such as "-diaries" or "-personal narratives"
- Sample keywords to find primary sources:
- food History sources
- Ireland famine sources