Lieutenant Colonel in the Massachussetts Infantry, 26th and 6th Regiments during the Civil War.
Civil War collection includes three diaries by Cooke which describe movements and daily activities of regiments, particularly in Harper's Ferry area, and include Cooke's impressions of Generals Grant and Sheridan, army life, and the South.
Union Army officer, member of the 19th Iowa Volunteeer Infantry; from Keokuk (Lee Co.), Iowa.
Civil War diaries describing military engagements of the 19th Iowa Regiment, including the battles of Pea Ridge and Prairie Grove, Ark., and the siege and occupation of Vicksburg, Miss.; relations between the officers and soldiers; the condition of blacks in the Union and Confederate territories; the utilization of black troops; and duties at Fort Brown, Brownsville, Texas.
Soldier in the 11th United States Regiment during the Civil War.
Diary recorded during various military campaigns in Virginia. Entries concern Confederate prisoners and deserters, troop movements and camp life in the Army of the Potomac, and General J.E.B. Stuart's raid toward Alexandria, Va., in 1864.
Union soldier in the 110th New York Infantry Regiment; from Pulaski (Oswego Co.), N.Y.
Whitney's Civil War diary concerns camp life; religion in the army; the participation of the 110th Regiment in the siege of Port Hudson, La., in 1863; and Whitney's service as a guard at Fort Jefferson, a prison for Confederates in the Dry Tortugas, Fla., 1864, including a description of the arrival of four civilian prisoners convicted of conspiring to assassinate President Abraham Lincoln.
Letters and diaries of Uriah N. Parmelee, Jr., 6th New York Cavalry, giving detailed accounts of camp life, morale, politics, rumors, and battles, raids, and skirmishes, including the Peninsular Campaign, the battles at Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Bristoe Station, and the Wilderness, and the Richmond Campaign; family and official correspondence concerning the death of Uriah N. Parmelee, Jr., at the battle of Five Forks, Va., during the Appomattox Campaign.
Collection also contains correspondence of Samuel Spencer Parmelee, dealer in carriages, wagons, and leather goods in Macon, Ga., pertaining to rents received from property in Guildford, Conn.; the death of his father, Uriah N. Parmelee, Sr., and the settlement of the estate; the recovery in 1892 of the diary of Uriah N. Parmelee, Jr., lost near Berryville, Va., in 1864; and the discovery of Uriah's grave in the Petersburg National Cemetery in 1911.
nion Army officer, from Belvidere (Warren Co.), N.J.
Brief accounts of the siege of Petersburg; fighting at Hatcher's Run, Va., and Fort Fisher, N.C.; marches to Appomattox Court House and Danville, Va.; the countryside through which he traveled; duty along the Richmond and Danville Railroad; and marches in review in Petersburg, Richmond, and Washington, D.C. Also included are brief social notices.
Union soldier, from Indiana.
Combination daybook, memorandum book, and diary of Boltz, a member of the 88th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers, containing brief accounts of his regiment; Sherman's march through Georgia; the siege of Savannah; and the march through the Carolinas ending at Richmond, Va.
Union Army officer from Piqua (Miami Co.), Ohio.
Diaries kept by Handy as a lieutenant in Company C, 94th Ohio Volunteer Infantry. The diaries give accounts of the celebration held in Nashville, Tenn., over the capture of Atlanta; an interview with General W. S. Rosecrans; a trip to Washington; attempts to gain a higher commission; business transactions of the company; and social life, customs, and outstanding plantations near Nashville.
Union soldier with the 24th Iowa Volunteers, from Monmouth (Jackson Co.), Iowa.
Letters and diaries of Dye describing military activities in Mississippi, Louisiana, Georgia, North Carolina and Virginia, camp life, food, disease, and rumors. Papers after 1871 deal chiefly with Dye's efforts to obtain a military pension.
Union Army officer, from Macomb (McDonough County), Ill.
Correspondence, primarily with his wife, Martha, and other papers concerning Broaddus' military service. He describes camp life with the 16th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, and military activities in Illinois, Missouri, Kentucky, and Tennessee. Letters by fellow officers written following Broaddus' death discuss action at Chickamauga and the disposal of his body. Other postwar letters concern Mrs. Broaddus' pension.
Union Army officer, member of the 4th New York Cavalry; from South Weymouth (Norfolk Co.), Mass.
Diary, 1864, of White, beginning with accounts of camp life near City Point, Va., and dwelling on the winter, the flies, drawing of supplies, a trip to Winchester, Ky., and ending with an account of a trip home. The other volume, part being reminiscences and the remainder a diary, gives a long account of why he, a clerk in New York City, enlisted.
Confederate Army officer.
Diary of an officer in Stanford's Battery describing camp life and military engagements in the western campaigns of the Civil War. The diary contains accounts of the battles of Shiloh, Perryville, and Stones River (Murfreesboro), all in 1862, and comments on various Confederate officers, particularly Braxton Bragg; discipline; army morale; and the hardships of soldiering.
Confederate soldier, stationed at Raleigh, N.C.
Diary describing Marcom's experiences at Camp Holmes near Raleigh, N.C., and in a fight at Kinston, N.C., in 1862. Entries in the diary concern camp life, especially the securing of supplies and provisions; training of troops; treatment of Union prisoners; and incidents of resistance to Confederate impressment.
Confederate soldier, from New Orleans, La.
Letter book (1859-1868) and diaries (1859, 1863-1964, and 1865) of Porter, a member of the Washington (La.) Artillery Battalion, describe his service in Virginia; the engagements in which he participated, including the battle of Brandy Station, 1863, the battle of Gettysburg, 1863, and the siege of Petersburg, 1865; the surrender of the Army of Northern Virginia at Appomattox; and Reconstruction in New Orleans.
Confederate soldier, from Henrico County, Va.
Diary, 1863-1865, describing troop movements in South Carolina and Florida; the siege of Petersburg, including an account of the explosion of the Union mine forming the "Crater," communication between the Union and Confederate lines, and ministers preaching in the trenches; engagements with the cavalry led by Philip Sheridan; and the wound he received.
Confederate soldier; from Forsyth County, N.C.
Family letters of Zimmerman to his wife, Adaline (Spease) Zimmerman, describing his experiences chiefly in Virginia. The letters comment on deserters, low morale in the Confederate army, his desire for peace, his efforts to obtain a furlough, and stories from Federal soldiers regarding desertion in the Union Army. The letters also discuss the various sections through which he passed, methods of travel, food, clothes, and battles and skirmishes.
Confederate soldier, of Fayetteville and Atlanta, Ga.
Chiefly Civil War letters from McBride to his financée, later wife, Mary Frances (Johnson) McBride, while he served with the 10th Georgia Regiment. Subjects include camp life, the 1st battle of Bull Run, the Battle of the Wilderness, the Union Army's destruction of Jonesboro, Ga. (1864), and Sherman's march through Georgia.
Confederate soldier, from Charleston, S.C.
Civil War diary of Joseph Julius Wescoat concerns the fighting in the vicinity of Charleston, S.C., in 1863; battles at Drewry's Bluff, the Wilderness, and Cold Harbor, Va., all in 1864; capture by Union forces in 1865; and prison life at Old Capitol Prison, Washington, D.C., and at Fort Delaware. The diary also contains genealogical material on the Wescoat family.
Papers of John Wetmore Hinsdale (1843-1921), lawyer and businessman, relate to his military service and other activities. The collection contains letters and a diary, 1860-1864, concerning his service in the Confederate Army as aide-de-camp to his uncle, General Theophilus Hunter Holmes and descriptions of troop movements, comments on many Confederate officers, and accounts of the battle of Seven Pines, the Seven Days' battle and the effects of the Civil War on Southerners at home.
Confederate soldier, member of the 17th Virginia Regiment; from Alexandria (Arlington Co.), Va.
Diary, 1861-1865, of Wise, containing accounts of battles and skirmishes in Virginia at Alexandria, Manassas (Bull Run), Goose Creek, Leesburg, Dranesville, Williamsburg, Seven Pines, Gaines' Mill, Frazier's Farm, Malvern Hill, Fredericksburg, and Suffolk. Also includes a photograph of Wise in his Confederate uniform.
Midshipman in the Confederate Navy.
Daily entries while Scales served aboard the Confederate ironclad Atlanta, stationed near Savannah, Ga., from December 1862 to April 1863, containing comments about the weather, supplies, ship life, the Savannah River blockade, and various Confederate ships; sketches; descriptions of ordnance; and a history and description of the C.S.S. Atlanta. Included are pen sketches of portions of the vessel, ordnance, and other items of the ship's equipment.
Trader and Confederate soldier, of Christiansburg (Roanoke Co.), Va.
Letters depicting Virginia in the years immediately preceding the Civil War and of conditions at the outbreak of hostilities. Subjects discussed include Southern attitudes toward a slave uprising, conditions in the first Confederate military camp in northern Virginia, early skirmishes and battles, Christian's hospitalization at Lynchburg, Va., recruiting of soldiers, and the hiring of substitutes by conscripts