Civil War Resources in Duke's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Sketch maps from the Civil War period representing geographic areas in Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, Louisiana, and one unidentified location. These maps chiefly depict roads, waterways, mountain ranges, fortifications, counties, cities, and towns. There are two battlefield maps present, including Bull Run (Va., 1861; a Confederate map) and Spring Hill (Tenn., 1864).

Collection was assembled from various sources and includes a variety of materials originating from administrative bodies within the Confederate States of America, including the Army, Executive Department, Congress, state governments and agencies, and the Navy. In addition to official records, the collection also includes some personal correspondence and miscellany.

Material covering the Civil War period, relates to secession; the formation of the Confederacy; the purchase of munitions in the North and in Europe; civil and military appointments; military operations, supplies and profiteering; conscription, exemptions from military service, and the question of using black troops; difficulties between the states and the Confederate government; and foreign support of the Confederacy.

Collection includes correspondence, commissary papers, vouchers of Jackson's command, soldiers' leave requests, and other papers (chiefly 1861-1865). The commissary records, kept by Turner Ashby and J. H. Halsey, contain information about food in the Confederate Army. Other topics include military operations and enemy movements.

During the Civil War the correspondence consists of official and family letters, the former containing much information on military activities. One volume contains 295 telegrams sent by Lee from the field to Jefferson Davis and the Confederate War Department. These dispatches relate to troop movements, reports of the intelligence service, skirmishes, enemy activities, transportation of prisoners and wounded men, and other details of military operations.

Correspondence and family, business, and personal papers (chiefly 1830-1900) of the Munford and Ellis families of Virginia. The later papers (after ca. 1866) center around Thomas Taylor Munford, Confederate Cavalry general and son of George Wythe Munford, and concern Confederate cavalry, Thomas Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson, the Virginia Military Institute, Confederate controversies, and other matters. Includes a narrative of the Battle of Five Forks and the retreat of Lee to Appomattox.

Papers containing miscellaneous letters concerning business matters and veterans affairs, and routine military orders and papers from the Civil War, including photocopies of Sherman's telegram to President Abraham Lincoln presenting him Savannah, Ga., as a Christmas present.

Colonel, 2nd Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry Regiment, U.S.A.
Chiefly Civil War military papers including military correspondence; telegrams; muster rolls; rosters of officers and staff; lists of deserters, recruits, reenlistments, and voluntary enlistments; reports of sick, wounded, and convalescents; inventories of personal effects of the deceased; hospital and army paroles; morning reports; ordnance returns, invoices, requisitions, issues, and transfers; and quartermaster papers.

The Eltinge-Lord Family collection consists of the papers of two men related by marriage who served as Union officers in the Civil War. Eltinge obtained a second lieutenant's commission in the fall of 1862 in the 156th New York Volunteer Infantry, a regiment recruited from Richmond County (Staten Island) and Ulster County, New York. The regiment saw service in several theaters. The largest part of the Lord division consists of the official records of the U. S. naval vessels Chillicothe (1863-1867, undated) Ozark (1864-1865), and Osage (1863, undated), and other naval records.