Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you know the name of a specific database, use the Databases tab on the Libraries Home Page.
If you want to find a database that covers a particular subject, look at Find Databases by Subject.
To choose a database, ask: What kind of research materials does it include? How far back does it go? Is there full text available? The database descriptions will give you this information.
The Articles tab searches across a thousands of journals subscribed to by Duke Libraries and is a good starting point for your research.
Search research databases for scholarly (peer reviewed) articles on a range of topics:
ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Supplies a clearinghouse of education research supported by U.S. Department of Education; primarily K-12. (1966 to present)
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. and international education research; includes research in higher education. (1994 to present)
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international research in sociology and related disciplines. (1952 to present)
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers. Offers the best full-text source for local, national and international news. (1990s to present)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
Distinguishing popular & scholarly sources
Found an article? Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.
Not available through Duke? Request it (free!) from another library using Interlibrary Loan.