Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Primary Sources
- Colonial State Papers
Colonial State Papers provides access
to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American,
Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery
worldwide over six centuries. Thematic areas covered include: Slavery in
the early Americas.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 are included.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Full text of the Sessional Papers from 1700 to the present.
- Eighteenth Century Journals
Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals
- Empire Online
Full-text database containing primary source documents about the British Empire.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
provides full-text access to the British Library's collection of the
newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney
- Sabin Americana
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
- America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.