Skip to main content

History 222A: Maritime Predation and European Imperial Expansion in the Atlantic Basin: Primary Sources

courseguidesfall09 history empires

Websites

Online Primary Sources

  • Colonial State Papers
    Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.  Lots about pirates!
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  • Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 are included.
  • British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
    Contains approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries written from the 1500s to 1900s, plus several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials.
  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Use Piracy as a subject keyword
    Full text of the Sessional Papers from 1700 to the present.
  • Eighteenth Century Journals
    Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals
  • Empire Online
    Full-text database containing primary source documents about the British Empire.
  • British Newspapers 1600-1900
    Cross-searches these databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century British Library Newspapers
  • Sabin Americana
    This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
  • America's Historical Newspapers
    America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway's picture
Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu