Search tips for finding films in the classic catalog
To find anime at Duke, use advanced search of the catalog with "animated films Japan" as subject keyword and limit search to film/video format.
To find Japanese films at Duke, use advanced search of the catalog with "feature films Japan" as subject keyword and limit search to film/video format.
Documentary Films – Japan will find films on Japan.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes scholarly literature
Japan Knowledge
Provides access to Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Wikipedia
For controversial topics, look at history.
Research Guide to Japanese Film Studies (2009)
The Japanese period film : a critical analysis (2008)
The attractive empire : transnational film culture in Imperial Japan (2008)
A new history of Japanese cinema : a century of narrative film (2005)
Japanese horror cinema (2005)
Samurai films (2008)
Atomic bomb cinema : the apocalyptic imagination on film (2002)
The anime encyclopedia : a guide to Japanese animation since 1917 (2006)
The Toho Studios story : a history and complete filmography (2008)
iFilm Connections: Asia and Pacific
A catalog of recent feature films and award winning films. Essays on
Japanese cinema, and filmography of prominent directors such as Kurosawa
Kinema Club, Ohio State
Kinema Club is an informal group of scholars studying Japanese cinema
and other moving image media (the name comes from a famous Taisho era
movie theater in Kobe) which was formed out of the shared need for
bibliographic information. Has information on holdings in North
American libraries, links to Japanese production companies, film
festivals, actors, data and search engines, a discussion of Noel
Burch's, To the Distant Observer, a guide to film specialty bookstores in Japan, and how to find prints in the US. Extremely useful.
Also provides links to online criticism and a searchable database of books and articles on Japanese media.
JPREVIEW.COM: Reviews and News of Japanese Cinema
Bright Lights Film Journal Articles on Japanese Cinema
Articles on silent film, Kurosawa, gay films and more. Reviews of new releases.
Midnight Eye
“The latest and best in Japanese cinema”, features interviews, reviews and a calendar of
events of Japanese films past and present.
Kinema Club
This is a site devoted to the study of Japanese moving image media. It includes a database
of resources and a discussion group.
Nippon Cinema
Reviews (in English), trailers, and links to more information.
Center for Asian American Media
Created to counter the scarcity of images of Asians in film and television, to correct the often distorted portrayals of them in the mainstream media and to create opportunities for the full participation of Asian American producers in the public media. Source of many of the PBS films on Asian Americans; covers all of Asia; for all age groups; includes ethnic heritage, Japanese internment, aging, activism, art and performance.
