Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for articles on the history of the US and Canada.
- Historical Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- ABI/Inform Complete
ABI/INFORM Complete contains: ABI/Inform Archive -Historical business journals ABI/Inform Dateline - Local and regional business ABI/Inform Global - Scholarly, comprehensive business research from periodicals worldwide
- EconLit with Full Text
Indexes articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance, production, welfare, inflation, accounting, international trade, consumer finance, political economy, and business credit.
- History of Science
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields.
- PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) is online from 1915 to the present. Includes many government and international organization documents.
- EIU publications
Includes country finance and data reports, and the Economist.
- Web of Science
A great secondary database which can be used to identify sources by keyword or which can be used to identify work which cites items which you know to be relevant.
- Periodicals Index Online
A specialty index which includes references to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995. It is especially strong for book reviews. The sister database Periodicals Archive Online contains full text of a substantial number of the articles.
JSTOR is a collection of the full text contents of a broad range of academic journals (excluding the most recent years). Its broad coverage make it useful as a one stop shop for secondary literature though it is by no means comprehensive
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
This international source indexes ~2600 journals in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.