LibGuides: Ministerial Studies (Divinity): Preaching

Library Catalog

The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.

Bible -- Criticism, interpretation, etc
Bible -- Homiletical use
Bible. New Testament -- Criticism, interpretation, etc
Bible. Old Testament -- Criticism, interpretation, etc
Hermeneutics
Liturgics
Liturgies
Preaching
Preaching -- Early works to 1800
Preaching -- History
Preaching -- History -- Middle Ages, 600-1500
Public speaking
Public worship
Sermons, American

Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Search using "Preaching."
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature. Search using "Preaching."
Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers.
Duke University Chapel Recordings Digital Collection
Audio and video recordings made at Duke Chapel in Durham, North Carolina, between 1955 and 1995. The recordings are drawn from a large collection held in the Duke University Archives. The digitized recordings were selected by staff of the Chapel and Divinity School for their historic significance, including a number of sermons by notable African American and female preachers.

Reference Books

Concise encyclopedia of preaching by William H. Willimon & Richard Lischer
Call Number: Ref BV4211.2 .C583 1995 in Divinity and Perkins
New dictionary of sacramental worship by Peter E. Fink
Call Number: Ref BV173 .N485 1990 in Divinity
Oxford history of Christian worship by Geoffrey Wainwright & Karen B. Westerfield Tucker
Call Number: Ref BV15 .O95 2006 in Divinity