Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers provides full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers.
British Newspapers 1600-1900
Cross-searches these databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.
- Guardian and The Observer
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment
- The Times Digital Archive
Search The Times (London) from 1785-1985 in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles. HINT: search in full-text rather than keyword to get the best retrieval.
See also the complete list of Databases for Britain and Ireland
- 19th Century UK Periodicals
Complete runs of 19th Century periodicals. Five series make up the content. Duke subscribes to Series One: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humour and Leisure/Sport and Two: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) **
A comprehensive index to books, articles, and primary sources about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from the Roman period to the present day. Now includes Texts and Calendars, Irish History Online and London's Past Online. Available to all users.
- BHI British Humanities Index
BHI is a current awareness tool that provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing, with over 240,000 records dating back to 1962.
- British Periodicals
provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
- Eighteenth Century Journals
Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals
- Historical Abstracts Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
JSTOR is a collection of the full text contents of a broad range of academic journals. The search interface of JSTOR and its broad coverage make it useful as a one stop shop for secondary literature though it is by no means comprehensive
- MLA Intl Bibliography
Provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 15 million articles in over 4500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences back as far as 1665. Now includes some full text.
- Victorian database online
An interdisciplinary database for nineteenth-century British studies
Print and microfilm
Paper Location: Bostock 1st floor
Microfilm: S6526 / 1986 - 1/2009
Microfilm: S153 / 1957 - to 2009
Note: This title is held in the LSC.
Sunday Times (London)
Microfilm: S169 / 1880 - to date
Microfilm: S172 / 1785 - to date
NOTE: This title is held in the LSC.
Paper Location: Bostock 1st floor