Skip to Main Content
British and Irish Studies
Search this Guide
British and Irish Studies: Government/Law
Books & Dissertations
Statistics and Data
10 Downing Street
Prime Minister's Website
Anglo-American Legal Tradition
Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London.
Directgov brings together the widest range of public service information and services online.
Government of Ireland
History of Parliament Online
This site contains all of the biographical, constituency and introductory survey articles published in The History of Parliament series.
Houses of the Oreachtas (Parliament of Ireland)
Access UK Legislation from 1989-present
Includes information about MP's and many Parliamentary
, including Hansard (debates) and committee reports.
TSO Online Bookshop (The Stationery Office)
Best place to find official documents to purchase or download.
Cabinet Papers 1915-1979
From the National Archives.
Colonial State Papers
provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Full-text of all Commons sessional papers from 1688-2006.
English Reports full reprint.
Making of Modern Law
Legal treatises 1800-1926; trials 1600-1926.
Worldwide social, economic and political issues and public policy. Includes government documents and non-governmental reports as well as journal articles.From 1915.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
a collection of digitized editions of texts covering Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800).
Northern Ireland. A Divided Community 1921-1972
Offers full-text searching of facsimile images of the complete record of the Stormont Administration in Northern Ireland, 1921-1972 (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland reference CAB/4).
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England 1275-1504
Provides fulltext access to the Rolls of Parliament (Rotuli Parliamentorum), with full translations
Records of the Parliaments of Scotland to 1707
The proceedings of the Scottish parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707.
State Papers Online: the Government of Britain, 1509-1714.
collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch.
Statutes of the Realm, 1235-1713
(in Hein Online, English Reports Full Reprint)
case law, legislation, and other legal materials
Guide to British Parliamentary Papers
From Duke Law Library:
English Legal History
Primary Sources >>
Jul 3, 2020 1:37 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Harmful Language Statement
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries