A survey of Singer's works from 1960 through his death in 1991. The text is divided into three sections, each arranged alphabetically. section A lists Singer's contributions to the Yiddish newspaper press; each entry includes the Yiddish title exactly as it appears in the original, an English translation of the title, and an indication of the pseudonym employed. Section B consists of Singer's works published in Yiddish in book form, while Section C lists all of Singer's works translated into English and published in book form.
Jewish American literature covers a broad range of genres and literary works. Some of the United States' most compelling literature centers on the American Jewish experience; some of the most acclaimed authors write from the heart of their experience as Jewish Americans. This ground-breaking work is intended to guide readers and those who advise readers in selecting fiction and nonfiction books that match specific reading interests. It is the first readers' advisory guide to Jewish American literature. Like other titles in the Genreflecting Advisory Series, the book organizes titles by genre--mysteries, thrillers, historical fiction, science fiction and fantasy, stories of romance, and literary fiction. In addition, there are chapters on holocaust literature and on biography/autobiography. More than 700 titles are categorized and described.
Call Number: (Library Service Center) Z6374.F6 E47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-06
A subject guide to hundreds of Jewish stories, this book's purpose is to help teachers, rabbis, librarians, folklorists, parents, and storytellers find the right story to match their need. It also will lead educators to a wealth of Jewish stories on universal themes for use in multicultural programs for all ages. The stories are numbered for easy reference and grouped in broad categories'for example, God, faith, and prayer; rabbinic wit and wisdom; tricksters and fools; festivals and holidays. For each story, a list of tellings (author and book title) provides numerous options for the story seeker, and a list of keywords connects the story subject categories. Two cross-referenced indexes make locating stories easy, whether by subject keywords or by title. An appendix lists recommended stories for children of different ages, from lower elementary through middle school.
This is the second volume of the bibliography of published material from the Cambridge Genizah collections, the first having appeared in 1988. It is an indispensable tool for scholars, serving as a guide to every book, article and reference dealing with the 140,000 Genizah fragments at Cambridge. Most areas of Jewish studies are represented here. The data is presented in large format, and the main reference section contains over 25,000 items of information. In addition, the book contains listings of material arranged according to author, and of works cited, as well as addenda and corrigenda to the first volume.