Skip to main content

Job and Career Research: Company & Industry Research

Duke Career Center

Duke Career Center
Location
Smith Warehouse
114 S. Buchanan Blvd
2nd Floor, Bay 5

Phone
919-660-1050
Hours
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday

Duke Career Center
Online Resources


 

Ask a Librarian

Ask Us Now!

Need Help?  Ask a Librarian for help finding career resources in the library. 

Librarians are available from 9am to 12am most days to help you with your research. You can reach us in person, via chat, phone, or email.

Search for Duke Library Materials - Companies & Industry

Search Duke's catalog for books, ebooks & other library resources on company and industry research:

 

Libguide

Recommended Handbooks

  • Hoover’s Handbooks
    Current profiles of major companies and other enterprises. Profiles usually include an overview; history; listings of executives. Locations vary. Check catalog for locations.
     
  • Vault Guides
    Insider guides to specific types of companies/industries. Additional Vault Guides available in the Ford Library's 'Career Collection' and the Vault library online

Online Library Resources for Company & Industry Research

Duke Library provides access to a variety of databases and research tools that are helpful for researching industry information and company specifics.

Directories & Reference

The Foundation Directory (online access is available but restricted; see a Perkins Reference Librarian for assistance)
Latest at Perkins Reference Desk AS911 .A2 F686

Ward's Business directory of U.S. private and public companies
Latest in Perkins Ref. HG4057 .A565

The Career Guide: Dun's employment opportunities directory
Parsippany, N.J. : Dun's Marketing Services, c1984- v.
Latest in Perkins Ref. HF5382.5.U5 D86

The National Job Bank: a Comprehensive Guide to Major Employers in the Nations Key Job Markets
Latest in Perkins Ref. HF5382.75.U6 N38
Provides employer profiles, including contact information (and, where possible, also the contact person by name and title) and a description of the company's products and/or services.