This list was combined by the Technology Group of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) for a forthcoming review. The brief descriptions below are excerpted from each resource’s official website.
- Annif https://annif.org/ fee
Automated subject indexing toolkit, a tool from the National Library of Finland which is designed for automated subject cataloging. Annif provides access to multiple ML backends facilitating trials of different ML models and approaches, including term frequency - inverse document frequency (TF-IDF) and multi-modal language model (MLLM), and benchmarking a wide range of approaches to subject and genre cataloging. Ued by the Getty Conservation Insitute for theAATA, a research database.
- EBSCO's AI-Enhanced Search fee
Includes AI Insights and Natural Language Search (NLS). AI Insights generates a short list of key insights from full-text articles, while NLS improves the researcher’s experience when using their natural language, enhancing context handling and overall search accuracy.
- ProQuest Research Assistant https://support.proquest.com/s/article/ProQuest-Research-Assistant-FAQs?language=en_US
ProQuest Research Assistant integrates AI-powered capabilities into research workflows, offering suggestions and prompts at critical points. It helps users formulate next steps and boosts productivity by providing document insights instead of simple generative answers to research questions. With thousands of colleges and universities providing access to ProQuest Central, institutions can leverage AI to enhance academic outcomes while maintaining traditional scholarly standards.
- JSTOR’s AI research tool https://about.jstor.org/research-tool/#about
JSTOR’s new interactive research tool.
- WhisperAI https://github.com/openai/whisper
Whisper is a general-purpose speech recognition model. It is trained on a large dataset of diverse audio and is also a multitasking model that can perform multilingual speech recognition, speech translation, and language identification.
- Transkribus https://www.transkribus.org/
Transkribus enables you to automatically recognize text easily, edit seamlessly, collaborate effortlessly, and even train your custom AI for digitizing and interpreting historical documents of any form. Comparative tool: Google Cloud OCR.
- Art Recognition https://art-recognition.com/
Art Recognition applies machine learning and computer vision techniques to determine the authenticity of artworks. We use two types of artificial neural networks to capture an artist’s main characteristics: a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) and a Vision Transformer with Shifted Windows (SWIN). These cutting-edge architectures have been adapted for our art-classification task, to categorize artworks into “authentic” and “non-authentic.” While CNNs have conventionally excelled in image classification, transformers are a modern architecture that also drives applications such as ChatGPT. Art Recognition has led the way in adapting Vision Transformers for art authentication.
- ArtPI https://www.artpi.co/
ArtPI is the first public API designed and optimized for art. It uses AI (artificial intelligence) and deep learning models trained over 1 million artworks. ArtPI is aware of the concepts of style, genre, subject matter, composition, light, space, color and other principles and elements of art. ArtPI provides solutions for art market professionals and businesses, such as galleries, auction houses, museums, and online marketplaces. Individuals can search a database of public artworks at artpi.io while businesses can benefit from our easy-to-implement website plugin or full API to search their private collections and display a visual search options on their website along with "related content" predictions and recommendations to optimize visitor engagement and sales. Additionally, ArtPI can be used on social media networks, such as Instagram, to report on most shared artworks from an art fair or a gallery exhibit, just by drag and dropping a picture of the displayed artwork.
- Scite https://scite.ai/assistant
Scite is an AI-powered research tool that helps researchers better discover and evaluate scientific literature through Smart Citations—a revolutionary system that shows whether articles support, contrast, or simply mention a given claim. Founded in 2018, and now part of Research Solutions, Scite has indexed over 1.3 billion citations and partnered with more than 30 major publishers to provide researchers with unparalleled access to scientific literature. With its Scite Assistant, Smart Citation Index, and advanced search capabilities, the platform addresses critical challenges such as information overload and research reproducibility. Trusted by two million active users worldwide, Scite is reshaping how researchers interact with scholarly content—building ethical, transparent AI tools that support rigorous, copyright-compliant research.
- Living Museum App https://www.livingmuseum.app/explore
The Living Museum is an experimental user interface using content from the British Museum’s website[1] (unaffiliated), which aims to show how these technologies could be used to craft engaging experiences for museums visitors and people at home. First, we allow visitors to curate personalized exhibits by searching the collection using natural language. Second, we use large language models (LLMs) to bring artifacts to life, allowing visitors to feel their presence and learn about history through dialogue.
