Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States History: Finding Newspaper Articles

Greensboro Sit-In

Online Newspapers

These databases are restricted to Duke users except for Chronicling America.

Historical Coverage:

America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.

Newspapers.com provides access to articles from thousands of newspapers from the 1700s -2000s.

19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. Coverage begins in 1827 but varies by title.

African-American Newspapers (1827-1998) provides full-text access to over 350 newspapers from more than 35 states.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 provides full-text access to hundreds of Spanish-language newspapers.

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers is a collection of 25 newspapers which document life in the camps.

KKK Newspapers provides access to articles from local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.

Chronicling America is a joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Currently, you can search and view pages from the newspapers of around 30 states. The ultimate goal of this project is to have every state and U.S. territory represented in this digital archive.  Coverage is 1836 to 1922 but varies by title.

Current Coverage:

America's News is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region. This full-text service excludes advertisements but includes national, regional, state, and local news items which were written by the local newspaper staff. Letters to the editor and editorials are included. Coverage is largely from the 1990s to present.

US Newsstream provides access to articles from major US newspapers. Date coverage varies by title, but the majority are available from 1980 to the present.

NexisUni provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Coverage varies by title, but the majority of titles are available from the 1990s to the present.

Ethnic Newswatch (1960 to present) contains the full text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.

Individual Titles:

Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Baltimore Sun (1837-1996); Chicago Tribune (1849-2012); Los Angeles Times (1881-2013); The New York Times (1851-2018); The Wall Street Journal (1889-2004); The Washington Post (1877-2005). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers provides access to scanned images from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); the Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); and the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.

North Carolina Newspapers