Skip to main content

Political Science: New@DukeLibraries

subject portal

News and new resources

ForeignAffairs.com (1922+)
We now have access to Foreign Affairs web-only content as well as the journal.

DMPTool provides advice on completing a data management plan and highlights Duke resources available for planning, maintenance, and sharing of research data.

Database trials are open to the Duke community. See which databases the library is considering, use them, and leave your comments. Trials are for a limited amount of time, so please explore them early and often! 


New Databases

ProQuest Political Science  
Covers political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, with full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Some overlap with Political Science Complete; also some unique content.

Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970

 “original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.”

Topics include: Background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home; Border wars of the 1950's ; Formation of the United Arab Republic ; Jewish terror groups,  among other topics.

Middle East Online Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974

“This online, fully searchable collection of British Government files contains a broad range of original source material from the  Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. The material has been selected to cover the history and politics of Iraq from the beginning of the First World War and the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra, to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. [It] documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy in twentieth-century Iraq...”

The Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Top level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers, plus materials on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.

New Political Science Books

Perkins Library catalog search for all Political Science books published in 2014.
You can use the facets in the catalog to refine this search.

Don't forget our videos! Here's a recent one:

Egypt

Suggest a Purchase

Subject Guide

Ryan Denniston's picture
Ryan Denniston
Contact:
ryan.denniston@duke.edu

Perkins 233
PO Box 90175
Durham, NC 27708
919-660-5876
Website Skype Contact: rdennist

Workshops

SSRI offers workshops in topics like Survey Design, Statistical Tools, Spatial Analysis, Qualitative Methods, and Quantitative Methods.
Workshops are free and open to all Duke students, faculty, staff, and research scientists.
Registration is required; to register, please visit the SSRI events calendar:

Take an EndNote class or register for an EN webinar.

Data & GIS walk-in consultation hours