LibGuides: HISTORY 189S/AAAS 189S: Slavery and Its Afterlives: Newspaper articles

Historical newspapers

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)

Search across the full-text of African-American newspapers
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

Search for news articles from major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times

Search for news articles from the New York Times from 1851-2019
America's Historical Newspapers

Search for news articles from historical American newspapers published from 1690-1922

Access World News Research Collection 2023 Edition
Access World News Research Collection: 2023 Edition provides access to more than 13,800 sources from over 200 countries and territories. It includes “America’s News” that you can search by clicking “Map Search” - “North America” - “USA.”
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The New York Times
Search full-text coverage of the New York Times from 2008 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Search for articles in ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines from 1959 to present

Online Journal Titles
Search to determine if a newspaper is available online (also magazines and journals)
Books & Media library catalog
Search for newspaper titles available in print and on microfilm (in addition to books and media searches)

Library Research Databases
Choose newspaper databases by selecting "Newspapers" from the "Types" menu. You can also select a "Subject."