Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books about composers are located in the ML410 section downstairs in the Music Library, arranged alphabetically by composer.
Link to Books about Mozart
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia entries on all aspects of music, including composers, performers, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, and institutions
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies, including an entry on Mozart.
Finding books at Duke and worldwide
Duke Books & Media Search
Search across books and media at Duke. Expand your search to millions of books from UNC, NC State, and NCCU in the top left-hand side of search results. See the search tips
page for advanced help.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search over 36 million items from libraries worldwide
A free service that allows you to request books, articles, and other items that are not available at Duke. You will need to create an account the first time you use this service.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, books, dissertations, and performance reviews in music from 1800s to present
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on a wide variety of musical periods and styles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world from 1743 to present. Full text theses from 1997-present
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Browse an online collection of classical music, operas and ballets
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Find and listen to classical music online
Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Find and listen to musical sound recordings and MIDI files, as well as program notes, composer biographies, and images
Metropolitan Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
View streaming performances from 575 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Find and watch streaming videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries
To search for CD recordings, go to the Music Library Homepage and click on "Recordings Only" in the search box.